Monday, Jan. 02, 2006 @ 8:42 pm
Burn!

I forgot to mention something funny that happened as I was checking out at Borders the other day. The cashiers were joking around, and the one who checked me out used the word egalitarian in a sentence. He said it so emphatically that it prompted me to make a smart remark - "Is that your vocabulary word of the week?" He looked up and said, "Ouch." The other one said, "That was good."


We didn't do anything on New Year's Eve. Jeff's boss' wife is recovering from surgery, so they didn't have a party. Jeff was still not feeling well, and my stomach was a bit gurgly and spasmodic, so I was laid in bed with a heating pad when the clock struck 12:00. Whoopdeedoo.

Yesterday I made black-eyed peas in the crock pot. The store was out of any canned ones except with bacon. Ew. I then made this recipe with some fresh collard greens, and cornbread. Mmmm...cornbread.


Today I went shopping and had lunch with my sister. Pretty low-key. We went to Kohl's so she could spend a gift card, but she only bought one small thing since everything was pretty well picked over. And she's picky. Hey, her words. (Who am I to talk?) It's still slightly awkward, because I'm not sure what to talk about with her and not sound like a parent. I do end up asking her about school a lot, but only in a curious way and not interrogating her. I hope.


And for some unsettling news, my FM transmitter didn't work with my iPod this morning. Dammit. (Weetabix warned me, but I didn't want it to be true.) I didn't even think about how the stations boost their signals during the week, but probably not on a holiday weekend (when I got it to work). I found some stuff online about hooking up an extension with a jack to the back of Delco stereos and playing it that way. Hopefully Jeff will be able to figure that out. If he doesn't look at it by this weekend, I'm taking it somewhere. There's no point having this fucking iPod if I can't play it in my car. That was the whole point.


Reading: various magazines, currently Veg News
Listening to: The Widow - The Mars Volta


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh