Monday, Dec. 27, 2004 @ 4:54 pm
family drama

Well, let's see. Dad called me Wednesday or Thursday (I forget) and said that we probably wouldn't do anything on xmas eve. I called my brother in the hospital and my stepmother wasn't there. I talked to her later, and she was crying. She had left my brother in the hospital after he yelled at her after she repeated what one of his fuck buddies said to her. She left him at the hospital after they released him and told him one of his whores could come get him. She then hung up on my other brother when she says he yelled at her, too. She also told my Dad he'd better straighten his shit up or get out. I don't know how much of this is her, and how much of it is them. With Allan, I can believe it. My Dad, yeah. She said that he can laugh and joke when he's around family or his buddies, but would barely speak to her while they're in the same room. My old evil stepmother used to say something similar about him.

So anyway, I bought a 35 frickin' dollar vegetable tray Thursday afternoon to take with us Friday to AL. Jeff sees it in the fridge and says, "You know there's tomatoes in there, right?" Yep, I actually paid money for tomatoes. Then my Dad told me I had to eat one, and some ham on Friday. He thinks he's funny.

Xmas eve was kind of subdued. My brother in GA wasn't there, but Scott and his wife were. They got me a kit kat clock and Rachael Ray's Veggie meals. I got him Doom 3 (PC game) and got Donna this. Yeah, it's leather, but it's what she asked for. Barb brought my gift from Allan from his house. I used it yesterday, and it's pretty darn nifty. I just gave him cash since I didn't want to go into B@ss Pr0 Shops again. Dad and Barb gave me a CD/MP3 player and a TuneCast transmitter. I can plug it into the CD player, then let it scan for a free radio frequency. I then tune my car radio to that channel and can play MP3s on my non-MP3 capable car stereo. They originally got me an actual hard drive MP3 player, which would be cool if I had a new PC with more USB ports (and some in the front). It'd be a pain in the ass right now, though. So, Dad and I went to the store and exchanged it. I was glad to have a moment with my Dad. I asked him if my mom had mental problems before her accident/head injury. He said he didn't think so. "Why, are you afraid you might flip out one day?" I told him yes, actually, but Jeff would tell you that I'm already crazy.


The day before that (Thursday) I went to dinner with Danielle at 0live Garden. There were a few awkward silences, but it was nice. I just told her the truth about our mother's family not talking to me anymore. I didn't say anything bad, but just that I am still baffled by it. Her mom has a more harsh story to tell, since one of my uncles was downright rude to her. The christian thing didn't come up, but I'm writing her a letter now. I just put that I am not a christian and would rather not get into the reasons. Hopefully she won't have any of my feared reactions.

We talked about what we have in common (good with numbers, not too girly, nearly same size clothes...). I told her about when I got married, having to go to where our mom died to the wake and to handle all of her affairs, my Dad's various marriages, etc.

After dinner we hung out at my house looking at pictures and looking through a box of our mother's stuff. We found an incident report from where she said she was raped. (I don't remember seeing this before, even though I sorted everything.) I was never able to get her to tell me anything about it (if they caught them, what happened, etc.) in letters. From the papers, it appears that she got into a lot of trouble and took a lot of medications.

I gave her a diamond and yellow gold necklace and pendant that I think our mother was wearing when she was admitted to the hospital before she died. She gave me a $20 gift card to B@th & B0dy Works. Sweet.


Jeff got a little testy yesterday when I mentioned I was selling a pendant he bought me a while back on ebay. He said, "You're selling this?" I said "Yes, what would you rather I did with it?" He was about to leave anyway, but seemed ok when he got back. We had a discussion about how I didn't like it and it was not something I'd ever wear about 2 years after he gave it to me, so I'm not sure why it's a surprise. I don't want to hurt his feelings, but geez. I'd rather sell it and put it toward a bigger diamond for my engagement ring. I'm selling the weird ring my Dad bought me last year, too.


Time to go get back on the workout wagon. Gotta counteract all the fudge we were given.


Reading: The I-5 Killer - Ann Rule
Listening to: The Idiot's Guide - QOTSA


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh