Thursday, Sept. 09, 2004 @ 4:22 pm
hair, rain, traffic, sissies

This is scary. And so is this.


I need to figure out what to do with my hair for the wedding, if anything. After searching for hairstyles from a google search without much luck, I'd resorted to looking at bridesmaid dress pics hoping I'd see a promising hairstyle. But I've found the solution. Whadayathink? Actually, I was looking for a partial updo. My hair is not very cooperative, though. If I can't find something easy that will stay put, I may just straighten it and leave it down. Screw it.


I'm mostly prepared for the shower. I have the gift wrapped, the decorations, plates, plastic-ware, napkins, etc. I have to pick up the food and drinks tomorrow, and the cake on Saturday. I have to get there around 12 to decorate and prepare (ahem, heat up) the food. I hope it goes well. I'll be glad when it's over. And get over it, sissies. No games. (Speaking of sissies, I must have this shirt. No, I mean it. You just don't understand.)


Blah. I hate working out. Can't I be asleep when that's going on? But I've got to do it. Except I haven't worked out at all this week. I think on Monday I just punked out. I got home too late on Tuesday & Wednesday (more on that below). I'm really going to try to do it today, I swear!


Add this to the stress of planning this shower deal: Jeff found a truck in NC. He talked to the guy, looked at pictures, etc. He talked about renting a car, but could not find anyone that would do it for a one-way drop off. He called me at work Tuesday (it took me an hour to get to work with all of the remnants of that Frances bitch, by the way) saying he'd reserved a car at Enterprise. I told him I didn't want to have to drive a car back by myself for 4 hours. He got pissy and said he'd find someone else and hung up on me. I called him saying that Hertz's website was allowing me to select one-way from a pick-up near us, then drop off in NC 12 miles from where we were going. I told him I'd have to call. So, I set that up. The problem was that they closed at 5:30 and I stayed later at work than planned (4:10 or so). With the shitty traffic and weather, it took me an hour and a half to get home. I called him at 5:00 to tell him to go get it without me, and then called the place to make sure he would be authorized. OK, got that done.

We left the house Wednesday morning around 7:30 and didn't get 5 miles from the house before the check engine light comes on in the rental car. Lovely. We didn't want to drive it that far without knowing what was up, so we took it to swap through more shitty traffic. Then we got an even bigger piece of shit Cava1ier and headed to NC. Traffic traffic traffic. Rain rain rain. Missed a turn on a curvy mountain road, dealt with Mapquest's questionable directions, got to the used car lot around 1:30.

I opened the driver door while Jeff checked the undercarriage. It smelled like a smoker sat in there double-toking a handful of cigarettes while rubbing ashes all over himself. Or a smoker's armpit. Ick. Not to mention the dirt all over the rear seats (it was a crew cab). Meanwhile Jeff is getting ill. Someone had spray painted over some rust under the truck, including the axle. Jeff didn't think NC would have the same problems as say, NY as far as salt on the roads for the ice and rust under the truck. Duh. He saw the twisty ass roads, and it was in the mountains. Oh, well. No dice on that one. We looked at the other dealers and lots there, then looked at some lots as we came back through Greenville, then just came home. Wheee! We didn't get home until 7:30 last night, too late to turn in the car. We did that this morning through even more shitty traffic. Then I came to work late because I had to. I don't want to be there tomorrow (work from home). And I'm not leaving later, dammit. I've seen enough traffic in the last few days to last me a while. I just don't see shit like that when I leave the house at 6am. And I'm very surprised I didn't have any digestive issues during all of this.


Reading: Living Among Meat Eaters: The Vegetarian's Survival Handbook - Carol J. Adams
Listening to: shhh


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh