Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004 @ 6:12 pm
AL etc. and kittie cavities

When we were walking around the old section of the cemetery, Dad was telling me that a black kid shot at him and his friend Tim when they where there one day. There was a black school beyond a fence and down the hill from there, and he said the kid was at the fence. They ran out of there and home, and came back with their guns to shoot back at him. If this is true, maybe this has something to do with his bigotry.

Dad and I went to the store to get them some bacon and to see if they had the Morningstar Farms fake sausage links for me. We ran into a couple they know. The guy is more of a racist than Dad, or is at least more vocal about it. When I walked up (after Dad had been talking to them for a minute), the guy said, "There's that Georgia cracker." I said, "You're the cracker, not me." Everyone laughed. I kind of have an antagonistic antipathy with this guy. I've called him out, in my own charming and cutting way, on some idiotic racial comments in the past.


There was a call Friday night, and they paged me. I guess I can't receive pages while out of state. I also got a call Sunday night. Both calls were related to the same problem from the 2am call last week - the same file. Apparently, a file that is deleted, redefined, and repopulated has a certain amount of space allocated in the define step. Sometime, the network people asked a guy on my team to change the job to lower this amount. They were trying to save space or something, but the file is over 2 million records. Luckily my boss convinced them to put it back like it was when it was working, so no calls last night.

I also talked to a lady on another team who has been here for over 10 years and is on call now. She, too, has to call people to help her a lot of times. Despite the fact that their team is micro-managed and they get in trouble if they don't fix something within an hour, that makes me feel better about having to call people myself. We have such a small window while the system is down to run all of these jobs that it's better to call someone than to sit there spinning your wheels.


I worked at home today so I could take Baby to the vet to get her teeth cleaned. We had to keep her from food and water starting at 8:30 last night. She only raised a little hell. I got there to pick her up at about 4:20 today. I was there almost an hour. Apparently after they'd brought her out (after 45 min), her chart was in the doctor's pocket, who had gone into an exam room to do a euthanasia. She forgot to bring it up front. Now, I sympathize with the pet and owners, of course, but this is just typical of this place. I love this particular vet and request her whenever I take the cats in. However, even if I make an appointment, I'm guaranteed to wait at least a half hour past my supposed appointment time. So, I'm not making an apppointment for her followup next week. I'll just show up when I damn well feel like it. And I'm skipping my workout today partly because it took so long there, and mostly because Baby's still a bit wobbly. I want to keep an eye on her.

Oh, and they had to pull two teeth - including a fang. Shit. I don't think she'll go for us brushing her teeth 3 times a week. As it is we'll have to do the liquid antibiotic twice a day for ten days. I'm sure that will be fun.


Someone needs to get me off of ebay. I'm on a jewelry binge.


Reading: Fat Land: How Americans Became the Fattest People in the World - Greg Critser
Listening to: nothing


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh