Monday, Apr. 05, 2004 @ 5:04 pm
wheeling and dealing

The facial was traumatic. I went in with no makeup except a little concealer. My face was especially broken out, so I was not comfortable. I was pushing it by working out and showering before going up there, but I wanted to be there at exactly 4:00 anyway. I didn't want to have to wait in the sitting area for too long, risking someone getting a good look at me. Amber, the girl who does my hair, came up and sat beside me and asked how I was doing. She said I looked tired, and I just nodded. She then asked if I was ok, and I just shrugged. "One of those days?" "Yep." They probably think I'm a freak as it is after the whole baby thing, and now I was kind of rude to Amber.

The facial itself was ok, not painful or anything. There was "exfoliator," masks (one for each type of area - oily, sensitive), steam, and extractions. No, they didn't hurt. It's nothing I'm not already used to. I was emotional telling the lady about my ongoing problems, previous treatments, products past and current, etc. I felt so stupid. I didn't let her see me cry, I saved that for the restroom after the facial, before I paid and left. Someone who hasn't had these problems just doesn't understand. It was almost like I was PMSing, but I don't do that anymore. I was also disappointed when I had her look at all of my products. She just said that they were all good for me to use and alternate between. I was thinking, ok if these products are good and I still have such problems, what now? What else can I do? I'm really tempted to go on Accutane again.

Luckily, my face looked better the next day, and even that night, though I'm getting flaky again in places. She recommended I get regular facials every other month. Maybe it will help and I won't have to go through the agony of Accutane again.


Saturday, where to begin. That morning we went to the bank to speak with someone Jeff's boss knows about a home equity line of credit. From what I was told and shown, it would be better than a straight up loan because the interest is lower, and we only pay what we borrow. It's like a credit card, so it will have a minimum payment and no penalty for paying it off early or sending in chunks of money. He wants to use this to buy a truck, as well as possibly pay off one or both of our credit cards. At worst, the APR will be 6%, but we have excellent credit so it will probably be 3-something%. I forgot if it was mentioned if there are closing fees, so I'll have to check into that.

Jeff also had to open a checking account - his first in almost 20 years. I think he'll only use it to pay the one tool payment I'd recently started mailing (instead of paying the tool guy every week, who Jeff's having a difference of opinion with). Hmmm. Maybe opening the account waived any closing fees. I don't remember exactly. We'll know the amount, etc. in 2 weeks or less, then he can start looking for a truck.


The dealership. What a pain in my ass. First, they only offered $3750 for my car. Psh. I told him I'd take less that 5K, but not less than 4K. So, he goes off to laugh at me, or supposedly talk to whomever. He comes back and of course says he got them to go up to 4K. I'm undecided at first. I'm weighing in my mind and with Jeff whether to trade or not, whether to take the 0% APR or $3000 cash allowance, whether to put the car in my name and have to buy a new tag after having just done that in February or just put it in both our names and be able to transfer the existing tag... (That was an ugly sentence.) So, I decided no trade. I had printouts from Kelley Blue Book, NADA, and Edmunds. The lowest trade was $3600 or so, the highest $5100. The average dealer retail was over $7000. Hell no. I'll keep that profit for myself, thanks.

And then while he was showing me a breakdown of all the add-ons and fees, I noticed something listed as $420. It said window tinting. I asked him what it was, and said that he told me $220. We went back and forth on that for a few minutes, he insisting he told me $420, me insisting that if that were the case I never would have agreed. Too bad the call wasn't recorded, or it wasn't in a voice mail. So, he goes to talk to whoever is in charge of calling someone to get the windows tinted. That guy comes over and tells us that it cost him $380 to get it done. So, there's a $50 mark up right there. I said that it was not my mistake to pay for. Jeff is huffing and puffing and fidgeting in his seat trying to keep quiet while I handle things. He wanted to tell them to take the shit off. For $420, it better do magic tricks. The salesman came back a few minutes later saying he worked it out so we get it for $220. That's what I thought. Of course, it probably came out of something else. Who knows?

We ended up doing the cash allowance and $3000 down. The numbers worked out better that way. So, we got all of that taken care of and go outside to leave - Jeff in the old car, me in the new. We walk around the car one last time to see if there are any more questions or problems. They put the dealer sticker on the back after I told them not to, so I made him remove it before we left. Bastards. My Dad told me to call the owner and tell him about the tinting thing. I'm not sure it will do any good. I have a feeling my Dad thinks he has more pull than he does. He did say that it's not like we haven't bought plenty of cars from them. My Dad's been going there for decades. But he says the owner's a good guy and probably doesn't know anything like that is happening. Yeah, sure. I think I handled it well, though. I didn't even use profanity, though my Dad said he would have. I know Jeff would have.




Reading: Fast Food Nation - Eric Schlosser
Listening to: Tombigbee - Tori Amos


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh