Thursday, Dec. 25, 2003 @ 8:23 am
"mom's cooking chicken and collard greens"

A local "celebrity."


Yesterday was ok, if not kind of weird. I met my brother, Scott, at his in-laws about 30 minutes away. We went in his car to AL. My other brother had a closing at 9:00 (he works in new home construction), and said he'd try to meet us if he finished early enough. Of course he didn't. He actually never showed up. I think that's pretty shitty. We tried calling him, and I got through once. He said he was on the other line and would call me back, but never did. After that, he wouldn't answer and no one could even leave him a message. I know he wanted to wake up this morning with his son for christmas, but he could have spent a few hours with us and then went home in the afternoon.

I got the massager I'd been asking for (the link isn't the exact one, but I couldn't find it). There was concern that Dad couldn't find it there, since they don't have that many stores in Anniston. They have Walmart, and that's where he found it. I also got a $100 gift card to the Gap. (Good thing, since I usually never shop there with my own money. I'm too miserly, usually.) I need some black jeans that fit right. I've got some that have shrunk and faded, and an old pair of Jeff's that are way too big and too long. Jeff got a gift card to Sears. We also each got a check for $250 from my brother, which was meant to go toward our new mattress. He wasn't sure what to get, so he did that instead. I'm supposed to go to Birmingham on Saturday and go to one of his customer's shops and pick it out. With the money he gave us and his discount, we'll have $600 toward what we want. I have a feeling I'll have to pay another $100-200 for the one we want, but that's still a good deal for me!

My Dad liked his house shoes and pocket knife we got him. He also got a rifle from my brothers. And we got Scott a knife, too. At one point I said, "It just ain't christmas without weapons!" Funny stuff. We got Barb some Eternity perfume, but she ended up with another bottle with a gift set. Oh, well.


Last night Jeff gave me my gift. I had seen the envelope containing the gift certificate from my spa as I was cleaning for the party. I assumed it contained the usual 6 massages. No, he got 12. Apparently he worked some kind of deal with the owner. Hey, I'm a good customer! I go in there for other stuff, too. When I went for my haircut Saturday, Amber said that the owner, Debbie told her not to tell me my husband had been in there. I asked him if that was my birthday and christmas together. He didn't answer. Is he meaning for me to be able to go twice a month? I don't know. Very cool. I feel shitty because I never got him anything. He never told me what to get him, and doesn't seem worried about it, either. I may chip in toward his next parts order for the restoration of his truck. He's already working on a list.


Today we're going to Jeff's sister's. His mom and dad are there, as well as his sister's boyfriend (I think they're common-law by now - no interest in the constitution of marriage. Been there, done that.), and his niece. They already know not to put meat or broth in the vegetables, so no stress there. (Yesterday I took Tofurkey slices to Dad's while they had ham sandwiches.) I'm taking the holy basil missleigh gave me, so hopefully it will be a good day. (Holy basil, Batman! Sorry, couldn't resist.)

Time for breakfast.


Reading: Bitch - Elizabeth Wurtzel
Listening to: Christmas in Hollis - Run DMC (in my head)


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh