Monday, Nov. 03, 2003 @ 5:37 pm
a half-assed Halloween

Well, the trick-or-treaters were quite entertaining and annoying. There was a couple who came with their baby dressed as a red pepper. I have to admit it was cute. The father said, "Oh, we're not doing this for us!" I said, "Uh huh, I didn't buy a bunch extra for me, either." There was a huge cow costume that looked like it was stuffed or inflated. There was a group of hispanic kids who were annoying on several accounts. For one, before I opened the door one of them yelled "trick or treat" really loudly at the window. Then many of them asked for more after I gave them a handful saying they were sharing with their sister, or whatever. First of all, I was giving huge, honking handfuls to everyone. None of that 2 or 3 pieces crap from me. Then there were the kids who were making requests - "Can I have that Reeses cup?" Sure. I just laughed. There were lots of pillow cases and those plastic grocery bags.

And of course there were a few teenagers barely dressed up, if at all. The last two were guys wearing their normal clothes. I said, "You're not even dressed up!" "We're dressed as ourselves." Oh, ok. Whatever. How original. There was a teen couple who were half-assed dressed up. The girl was wearing black and white. I asked her, "What are you supposed to be?" She said an oreo. Pshh. Have I overused the word "whatever" in this entry yet?

After it was all over (around 9:30), we still had lots of candy left, including 2 unopened bags. I didn't mean to have that much left.


Saturday I went to my friend Sherry's for lunch. She made us black bean soup and cornbread. Well, I made the cornbread. I made it the way I do at home. Cornmeal, flour, egg replacer, soy milk, oil, no measuring. Except I use self-rising flour and cornmeal. She asked if I wanted the baking powder and I said no. When they came out like little hockey pucks, she said she thought I knew something she didn't. Please, don't assume I know anything about cooking. Oh, well. So that's what baking powder is for! Incidentally, she gave me a Moosewood cookbook she happened to have an extra copy of, but only on the condition that I cook something out of it. Maybe eventually I won't be such a dork in the kitchen.

She showed me their huge new house. Five bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, fabulous kitchen, front porch, basement, 2 car garage...I'm jealous. She also has walk-in closets. Closets, plural! Anyway, we then went shopping for curtains for the many windows she has yet to cover. She hates blinds, so it's been hard to find stuff that matches and fits the windows. So, we piddled around for a while, then I went home to prepare for the party.

I quickly decided which black pants and jacket to wear with the white shirt and gray tie. I also wore sunglasses and my hair tied back. I tried to use a hands-free thing from an old cell phone as an ear piece, but it got on my nerves. It was all kind of half-ass, but I wasn't the only one. missleigh and her man were redneck zombies because Ken didn't like her original idea. They got everything at a thrift store that day. The Hussy was going to be Mimi from the Drew Carey Show, but ended up being a really bad drag queen. I don't think she was able to find any troll dolls. Death was there, and was quite chatty. We discussed beer quite a bit. (Speaking of that, I like Killian's Red better than Foster's now.)

It was pretty fun, and Jeff drove me. We got there late as I figured. I had told K that I'd be there between 7:00 and 7:30 if alone, and late if Jeff came. We played with K's four kitties, including her newest little boy, Orio, who was smaller than my foot (and that's small!). I miss playing with kittens. That's why I liked volunteering at the humane society so much. My cats just kind of swat at me, hiss, then run away to nap.


I was tired yesterday because I didn't get in bed until about 2am Sunday morning. I slept until about 9:30, though. I'm surprised the cats allowed it. I didn't do much. Piddled online, ironed clothes, went to the grocery store. We sold 2 items out of 11. Oh, well. I had to file a non-paying bidder notice and cancel a bid on another auction from a guy who said he had just lost his job. I had gotten worried after he did not contact me until Saturday morning, and I could see that he had bid on a couple pages of other auctions. He could be lying, but whatever.

We listed 10 more items. Will it ever be over?


As we were going to the store yesterday afternoon, a squirrel ran out in front of us and just stopped in the center of our lane. At first I thought, "Dumbass!" Jeff did not swerve but stayed centered hoping he would just go over him. Luckily, he was ok and ran across the street after we passed. Maybe he wasn't a dummy squirrel after all. I might have swerved and hit him when he stayed still. Jeff won't swerve as maniacally as I would, but he wouldn't hit one on purpose. He certainly knows he'd better make every effort when I'm in the car, anyway.


Gratuitous Tori plugs:




Reading: Bitch: In Praise of Difficult Women - Elizabeth Wurtzel
Listening to: Breathe - Blu Cantrell featuring Sean Paul


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh