Friday, Aug. 29, 2003 @ 10:02 am
clocks and pills

I cut a page out of my Allure magazine. It's an ad for Yasmin. I've been thinking about changing birth control pills. I've done some online research, as well as having email chats with someome who's taking it now. From what I've read, it is a lower form of hormones from the "old school" pill I'm taking now, and contains a derivative of spironolactone. Aside from the hormonal breakouts, it can improve sexual dysfunction and weight gain sometimes caused by the higher dose pills. I'm worried that the derivative won't work as well as my current treatment. I faxed my blood work results* to my dermatologist and attached a note explaining the above. We'll see what he says.

Also, the ad had instructions for starting the pill. The one where you start on the first day of your period says you don't need a backup method. The method where you start the Sunday after your period says you use a backup method for 7 days (until the next Sunday). That's not too bad. I feel a little less paranoid about changing. I'm deathly afraid of skipping a pill, changing pills, taking antibiotics, or even accepting generic pills. I just don't want to risk it.

*Side note:
protein - 7.5 (of a normal range of 6.0 to 8.3 G/DL) hemoglobin - 12.9 (of a normal range of 11.7 to 15.5 G/DL))

So, nyah!


I forgot to mention that when Jeff's mom was here last weekend, she brought Jeff his Grandma's clock. She'd called to see what of his Grandma's he wanted out of her house (especially since his aunt moved in there and is cleaning it out). He wasn't sure, but mentioned the clock. It chimes, too. So now we have my clock that chimes the hour and half hour, and his that is a bit more quiet and only chimes the hour. Here it is:

(You'll have to excuse that ugly-ass wallpaper that was here when we bought the house. It's days are numbered.)

He thinks it may have been his great-grandfather's clock. We can't tell who it was made by or when because the markings are wearing away.

I love clocks, especially chiming ones! My Dad had a clock when I was growing up that chimed every quarter hour and chimed the Westminister at the hour (and part of it at the half). I loved that thing! He got it when he'd worked for GM for 25 or 30 years. I'll have to mention that the next time he's feeling generous or asking what I want when he dies. He does that, you know. I'm really not a greedy, ungrateful daughter. So far I get the china cabinet I helped him refinish as a kid (with the rounded class on the sides, very cool!). Other than that, I don't know. It doesn't really matter to me. There are just certain things he wants each of us to have. I hope we don't get them for a long, long time.


Queens of the Stone Age only won one (Best Special Effects in a Video - Go With the Flow) of the three awards they were nominated for at the MTV VMAs. The lost the MTV2 award to some neo-pop/punk band. Fucking shit. What the hell do they know, anyway?


I think I'll take a few things to the consignment shop today. I'll try not to buy more stuff while I'm there, but I'm not promising anything.




Reading: You Don't Need Meat - Peter Cox
Listening to: QOTSA - Ode to Clarissa


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh