Friday, Nov. 29, 2002 @ 9:32 am
mostly a non-event

I guess Thanksgiving was ok. The food is not what's important, right? I'm not sure what's going on with my stepmother. She has always made delicious food. The dressing she made me was sorta dry, which is to be expected without the broth. Why couldn't she use vegetable broth? It was also way too salty. It wasn't so bad at lunch when there was mashed potatoes and rolls. I reheated some for dinner and could not finish two bites. I really appreciated her making me a special pan of dressing, and told her so. She seemed worried that it would be bad, but I told her it was fine.

Another issue was the "new recipe" for pumpkin pie. Why screw with what works? I took a piece home since I was too full to eat it there. It was bland, and had nuts in it. Luckily I still have the pie that Jeff's boss' wife made for me, and a large tub o' whippy cream.

Oh, and the macaroni & cheese. Why screw that up by putting a can of vegetable soup in it? Sheesh.

I felt kind of rushed, and not myself. I had been up since 4am. I felt rushed because I knew Jeff would want to leave early so Filo wouldn't be in his cage too long. My face is clearing from a slight breakout, so I didn't want to look anyone in the eye. There were people I didn't know well or didn't like there. Don't know well - LeAnn, my brother's girlfriend; my stepmom's friends Otis and Bobbie. Don't really like - Lisa, my brother Allan's ex-wife and my niece's mom; her ex-husband Roger and father of Chad, my niece's half-brother.

I wish there was a way to take Filo with us on christmas eve so we could stay longer. I'm not sure he would behave, and I'm not sure how we'd carry him in the car. He could shred my leather seats. If he didn't behave, I guess we could put him outside or in the garage for timeout. Hmmm. I'll have to think about this.


I could not sit still last night after we got home for fear that I'd fall asleep and further screw up my sleeping patterns. There was also plenty to do. I slightly rearranged the living room to make room for my big ass tree, found all the ornaments we've bought since last year, and got all the decorations (except for the tree) out of the attic. I don't want it to be an all day thing like it was last year. I have places to go and things to do.

I'm not sure why I'm putting up a tree anymore. I'm not having a party, and I rarely have visitors. And we have a new puppy, who could team up with the cats to knock the whole damn thing down. I guess I'm putting it up for me. I've always loved looking at decorated trees - watching the lights twinkle, checking out all the individual ornaments. Dad had already put up their tree. And as I thought, was already trying to get me and my niece to open a present. He's so funny that way. When I was a kid, he'd always make me open a small present during the week before christmas. I think he enjoys watching people open gifts more than opening his own.

Speaking of that, what the hell am I getting him for christmas? I first thought of getting him a Lowes gift card, but that's what I got him last year. Then I thought of enlarging and framing a picture of him holding me as a baby, but that's lame. I tried to look around and find something he needs or think of something useful. No luck. Barbara said to get him a bag of switches. If nothing else, I can give him cash.

Oh, well. Time to go decorate and watch 24 hours of Eastwood.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh