Thursday, Jun. 06, 2002 @ 5:31 pm
the one bad thing about my job

On my team at work, we have an on-call schedule. Everyone is backup and then on-call twice a year. For example, I'm backup this month and on-call in July, and the same for December/January. Well, so far I've been called every night this week. Monday night it was around 8pm. Apparently Alphonse was not home and did not have his pager. Same thing Tuesday night, but I'm not sure they tried to page him. Last night they called around 10:30. I was livid (and hormonal). It was the identical problem from last night, so I told them to do the same thing to fix it (close a few files), and restart the job. I was too keyed up to go back to bed, so I bitched to Jeff for about a half hour. I even got a AAA battery to give to Alphonse for his pager.

I bitched to Rick on Tuesday, who asked Alphonse where his pager was. In his desk. Great. When we got these pagers, we were told that we had to call back within 15 minutes of being paged even if we could not look into the problem. But I could never go in there and bitch to him, though. I have no right to tell him how to do his job. He has been here for about 15 years, is very smart and very good at what he does. He may have just forgotten he was on call. Hell, I've done it before. The only thing is, he told me this morning that his phone line was messed up and they couldn't get through to him. I look at the system today to see that he had already handled a call around 8pm last night. He has more than one phone line, a cell phone, and (hopefully) a pager. What is the problem? I vaguely remember him telling me this about his phone line either 6 months or a year ago. Hmmm. Well, the good thing is that I can clock 30 minutes whenever they call me. Even for last night when I was on the phone for less than 5 minutes, and didn't even have to boot up my computer.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh