Monday, Jun. 03, 2002 @ 5:23 pm
Yay! I'm not a ho!

We went to the Atlanta Humane Society on Saturday. They post a few animals that are available for adoption online each week, and I saw a pit bull. Before we went there, I needed to go to the vet to stock up on Advantage for the cats. There were other dogs there, of course, including one particularly hyper one in front of us. Jeff was fine until he saw the people and dog behind us. He said it looked like a chihuahua and it looked like it was dying. I only saw something wrapped in a red blanket in the lady's arms. He cried in the car. He said it "got to" him to see that dog because it reminded him of the guy bringing Thor to him when he picked him up for the last time.

At the Humane Society, we looked in the puppy room first. There were a few pit bull mixes. A black one looked like it was mixed with lab. Another was white with brown spots, and had these ears that stood straight up. They had named him Bat Man (I assume because of the ears) because he was lost. They keep them there "on hold" for a week to give the family a chance to find him, then put them up for adoption. One thing we noticed about him was that he did not bark. The puppy beside him barked every time we got close to the cages. Bat Man just looked at us. He'd only respond if we were directly in front of him and talking to him. He let out a few playful growls, and chewed on Jeff's fingers a bit. We lingered in front of his cage for a few minutes, then went to the adult dog room. We found the dog I had seen online (Chester), but Jeff did not seem interested.

It makes me sad to look at all the animals in cages there, depserate for attention and love. I am comforted by knowing that they are being well cared for. I know, because I used to volunteer there. They walk all the dogs individually at least once a day. They do not place dogs in cages facing each other to avoid added stress. When all the cleaning, feeding and watering are done, all the animals are given individual attention (as much as time warrants). I spent all of my time in the cat room when I volunteered. They dogs and puppies were a little too noisy and rambunctious for me. Besides, I'm a cat person through and through. There was always one or two cats each week that I connected with and would have taken home had I not had 3 cats already.

Anyway, we went back to the puppy room and were able to take Bat Man out of his cage and into an out of the way hallway to check him out. He seemed very distracted by the other dogs, and by the people walking by. His reaction to the other dogs worried me a bit, since he could have an aversion to cats. Since he was a lost dog, there's no way to know that. Volunteers and staff seemed to know him by name and always greeted him verbally or petted him. It could have all been an act to get him adopted, who knows? Once he calmed down, we sat in the floor with him and I rubbed his belly. We both had marks on our hands and arms from him gnawing on us. Don't worry, he was only playing. Puppies chew on everything.

Well, we ended up leaving him there. Jeff told me later that had he been black or brindle (like Thor was), he would have adopted Bat Man. (We would have HAD to change that name.) I told him that the personality is more important that the appearance (obviously). I had told him to take his time, and I guess he will. We did get a Sunday paper, but it's hard to tell which ads to call. Most of them claim to be registered and are asking way more than we want to spend. I'll leave it up to Jeff, though.

---------------------------------

Here's some useless information:


Which My So-Called Life Character Are You? Find out @ She's Crafty


Who's Your Inner Music Industry Diva? Find out @ She's Crafty


Who's Your 80s Movie Icon Alter-Ego? Find out @ She's Crafty


Are you a ho? Find out @ She's Crafty

What's with the Jewel theme?




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh