Friday, Mar. 22, 2002 @ 6:46 pm
rubdowns & moolah

My husband's friend Amy made a comment last night that bothered me. She's getting married on the 30th and was inviting us to a celebration that night. I told her I'd be in Charleston. She said something about the NAACP boycott and that if she had the money, she'd go there and spend lots of it. She also has a huge flagpole with the old GA state flag on it in her yard. I told her I'm not going for political reasons, but because I like Charleston. This made me think, does she really think I agree? Surely not. Also, am I indirectly working against the NAACP?

See, I can see both sides of the issue. I can see how blacks would be offended or threatened by the display of the "rebel flag." I can also see the desire for or pride in heritage, or whatever. However, most of the people I know who display or would display the flag do not like blacks. They try to say that it is not meant to insult anyone, but deep down I think they relish it. It's sending a signal that "they don't like no niggers." My gut reaction to seeing a rebel flag is disgust, I must admit. Yes, I'm southern, but I do not think that flag represents my heritage in the least.

One of the times I visited my parents when they were in Charleston, I remember my Dad trying to get me to go into this Civil War store. I refused. I looked in, and it was a sea of rebel flags. Rebel flag shirts, blankets, cups, beer can coozies (or whatever they're called), etc. I even refused to buy my Dad a huge shot glass with a rebel flag on it in Savannah because I didn't want to contribute to his bigotry (even though the thing was kind of funny - it said "Redneck Shot Glass" on it). He lives in AL, but has the old GA state flag on the front bumper of his truck. Yes, the new flag is butt-ugly, but at least it is not a symbol of cruelty, bloodshed, and human servitude for millions of Americans.

OK, I'll get off my soapbox.

-----------------------------

I just got back from my 1 hour massage. Aaahhhhhh!! The girl who I liked is "not here anymore," so it was a new lady. I thought she was going to get on my nerves at first. She had an annoying teacher voice, but luckily she didn't talk druing the massage except to tell me to turn over and that she liked my tattoo.

Before I left, I asked a couple of the girls who cut hair what they would suggest for my waist length, thick, wavy hair. I mentioned that I don't blow dry it, and didn't want to have to style it. I may use a straigntening iron every now and then, but even then I don't blow it dry. Anyway, one of em said she'd cut 3 inches off and add long layers - the shortest layer starting below my collar bone. Hmmm. I'm not sure about this. I've just been going to Great Clips and getting it cut straight across. I've been wondering if it would be less bulky if I had a "pro" cut it. I still want to be able to put it in a ponytail without all those loose hairs bugging me. I'll have to think about it.

---------------------------

Oh, can you believe we got our state tax refund before our federal? Though, the federal one was supposed to be mailed today according to the 800 number. We're in the money!!!


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh