Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2002 @ 5:04 pm
dreamweaver

I had a vivid dream in the minutes between cutting off the alarm and actually getting up this morning. I dreamed that most of the houses on our street had burned down, including ours. Jeff and I are coming down the street and are in shock at all the burned houses, then in hysterics (I was anyway) when we see that our house is burned, too. My first thought was, "where are the animals?" In the dream we were able to look under the house (though in reality, our house is built on a slab). I found Buzz, my fat boy(cat), under there, singed but okay. Then I think, Thor (pit bull) is so big, how would he get out? We found him near the woods at the edge of our back yard. Then I woke up.

I was permeated with a sadness and an urgency when I woke up. I love my animals dearly. So, I unplugged my electric shaver from the wall where it had been charging. I hugged Thea because she always follows me into the bathroom in the morning when I put on my makeup. I found the sticker I had received from one of the animal charities I donate to that you can put on a door or window to alert emergency workers of how many and what kind of animals are in the house. I checked the stove to make sure if was off. I couldn't think of any more preventative measures, so I went to work. I must look this up in my dream dictionary.

It's strange. The dreams I have in that 30 to 40 minutes are always the most vivid, and sometimes stay with me all day. The one I had yesterday was about a toilet that took up half the bathroom. I must have really had to pee, and that was my mind's way of telling me to get up before I wet the bed. A few months ago, I had a dream that Jeff was cheating on me and left. I woke up with lingering anger and sadness that stayed with me throughout most of the day, and turned into a sort of gratitude for having him in my life.

-------------------------------------

On another note, I really need to get back on the wagon. I have not exercised since before I got sick last month. I'm still eating crap. I use the holidays as an excuse. Thanksgiving and christmas, valentine's day, easter (Cadbury Eggs, mmmmmm), etc. It's a wonder that I still fit into the same clothes after having been bad for so long. One thing worries me, though. I'm still having 2 or 3 coughing fits a day. Now that I'm taking Claritin, I have none of that post-nasal drip, or other sinus stuff. The coughing fits feel like my throat is closing up, and my throat has been sore off and on since I got "better." I'm worried that working out will cause problems (another excuse?), and am beginning to wonder if I have asthma as the doctor suspected. The chest x-ray and breath test came out normal, though. The coughing fits leave me red in the face, gasping, eyes watering, and struggling to breathe and/or swallow. And they sometimes make me dizzy, like I'm losing oxygen or something.

Maybe I should go back to the doctor. It's just that other than a sore throat, most of the time I feel fine. I think it would be silly and a waste of time and money to go back for nothing. I tend to let myself get really sick before I'll go, just to make sure it's warranted.

------------------------------

I looked up the dream, but it's hard to pinpoint.

Burning - A dream of contrary signifying a coming increase in prosperity, unless it was a very large building that was burning, in which case you are being warned to guard your finances.

Fire - ...To observe a house or building that is on fire forecasts an urgent appeal for help from a close friend or relative...

House - ...a dream which featured a house being demolished or being in an empty one suggests you are grieving over a recent loss, broken relationship, or missed opportunity; don't despair, time really does heal all things.

None of these seem to fit, and I wasn't sure what to look up. I also couldn't find things like wreckage, pets, burned house, or damage. The entry for animals pertained to wild animals. The entry for ashes didn't fit, and I don't remember that being a prominent part of the dream. Oh, well.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh