Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2002 @ 5:50 pm
getting back on the wagon

Alright, who is the asshole who brought a 5 lb Hershey Chocolate Bar to work and left it in the break room? Luckily, I have been able to abstain. I'm keeping Myrtle Beach and my 10 yr class reunion in mind. I have not yet started working out again, but I hope to today. This is the week before my period, so who knows how I'll feel.

My goal is to do at least 30 minutes of aerobic exercise 3 times a week, and weight train 3 times a week (or at least twice a week). The aerobics will be limited to videos until we are able to put the wood flooring in the bathroom that is now stacked behind the treadmill, or until I find somewhere else to stack it that is not in the way.

I've been wondering what family, friends and coworkers think of Jeff and our relationship. He hardly ever goes to parties that my friends throw. He sometimes even leaves the house when I throw the party. He only sees my family on holidays. If I get together with any of them any other time, I can be assured he will not go. My boss is getting married on Feb 2, and he will probably not be going to that, either. Everyone else will probably be bringing their spouses, if they have one. I mean, we get along and love each other, but we have our own lives and interests. I learned a long time ago not to make him go to any function he does not want to go to, like weddings. I don't know. I guess if I don't have a problem with it, no one else should.

Oh, and he will probably not be going to Myrtle Beach. Leigh is bringing Ken, Jen is bringing Brad, and Karen is bringing Danny. At least Paula and Kellie will not have a significant other there, either. I may not feel like a fifth wheel. I'm just very independent, and so is Jeff. I guess what prompted me to think about this, besides the events coming up, is a comment my brother Scott made. He and his wife are coming to town this weekend and mentioned getting together with "you and Jeff, or you." He knows the chance of Jeff joining us is slim. Of course, we will probably be shopping and maybe eating lunch or dinner together. Jeff hates to shop. Again, I'll be a third wheel.

I'm very encouraged by Jeff's attitude toward my vegetarianism lately. We went to his new favorite restaurant at the mall, the Big Easy. He gets BBQ bourbon chicken, red beans, corn, and potatoes (nothing green - the horror!). I get red beans and rice and collard greens which are not flavored with meat. He even told me he tried Mongolian Beef that someone had brought to work. He said he wondered if there was anything at a Chinese restaurant that he would like. He doesn't like rice, and can do without pasta. Hmmmm. I'm not familiar with that many dishes. Only the ones I order regularly (or used to). He's trying to be more accommodating, it seems, since our 2 most common restaurants used to be Red Lobster and Longhorn. We have to find somewhere we both can eat.

-----------------------------------

Ok, I just finished my first workout of 2002. Yippee! I did a favorite aerobics video by Kathy Smith. I feel good about it, though I was getting tired toward the end and wheezing a bit. I'm not completely out of shape, but I have definitely lost some cardio training, as well as strength and toning. Tomorrow I will work my arms and abs. I even hung an extra calendar in the "workout room" to keep track of what I do. I pegged Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays for cardio, and Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays (unless I do it after cardio) for weights. Wish me luck!




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh