Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2001 @ 5:39 pm
Leigh Day 2001

I had fun with Leigh on Monday. We went to a vegetarian chinese place for lunch, Harmony. We then did some shopping. I bought a christmas ornament that looks like my tattoo (sun/moon) for $9. That's steep, but I had to have it. We went to the health food store and I got some meat alternatives to try - Smart Ground (may use that in spaghetti or tacos), Smart Dogs (mmmmm), and an UnChicken with soy skin. Can't wait for Jeff to see that in the fridge. He'll think that's hysterical. Wait until I get some Tofurky! That name still cracks me up.

I plan not to bring the vegetarian topic up at my parents on Thanksgiving. If I'm asked, or is a dish may have beef or pork in it, I may mention it. Maybe before next year's holidays I can break it to them gently so there's not a scene when I refuse the turkey and dressing.

I still can't find my Dad a dress shirt made in USA. I've been to 2 malls, Goody's, Target, and Marshall's. I may have to go to Walmart, as much as I hate that place. I could just give him money and tell him to find his own damn shirt. I'm pretty much finished buying gifts for my family (except Dad and my brother's baby-mama who has left him). I have no clue what to get Jeff's family. His parents are older than mine (in late 60s), and his grandma is 86 and just broke her hip. (She had surgery Saturday and should be coming home soon, by the way). It's hard to know what to get them. I want to get them something useful. Jeff's mom usually clues me in to some ideas, but she usually says "I haven't thought about it, yet" this early on. She said that Friday, and couldn't even tell me anything to get for her! One year I was done shopping by Thanksgiving. That was a great year.

The next couple of weeks should be a breeze. Next week, I'm only working Monday and Tuesday. Monday we're having our Thanksgiving potluck at work. Should be interesting. I'll just stick to the dishes that couldn't possibly have beef or pork in them (like fatback in greens - dammit, I love greens, too). Wednesday I'll just sleep late (if I CAN) putter around the house. Thanksgiving, we're going to Dad's in Alabammy. The Friday after Thanksgiving is my traditional put up the christmas tree day. I love it. Luckily, my tree is pre-lit. That was the hardest part, lighting the tree.

The week after that, I'll be in Monday and part of Tuesday. I'm going to a work convention in Savannah and we're leaving Tuesday around 10am. It's a 4 hour drive. This will be my last seafood fling. I also hope to get some good pictures. Yep, I'm gonna be an annoying tourist.

I need to tell another story, don't I? Hmm. I've told about meeting Jeff, the wedding, my hatred of kids. Maybe my next entry will be about my estranged, bipolar, lithium-taking, now-deceased mother. Or, maybe not. I have to be in the mood for something that heavy.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh