Saturday, Oct. 20, 2001 @ 9:18 am
How Dolly Parton played a role in my wedding

So, where did I leave off yesterday? Oh, the marriage. Well, I moved out the day I turned 17. I already had all my stuff moved into our duplex, so I slept on the floor my last night there. I remember my first night with Jeff. It was so strange lying there in bed going to sleep with his arms around me, and not having to worry about getting home by 11pm.

The next evening, we left for Sevierville, TN, where we were scheduled at a chapel to get married the next morning. This is a favorite story of mine. We rode through the Smokie mountains in the dark, with the pitch black drop-offs to either side. I couldn't go to sleep because I had to keep Jeff awake. We listened to every Metallica tape I had. We talked about religion, our parents, our beliefs, our childhoods... This remains a fond memory. Because it was so late and we were in hick-town, no gas stations were open. We ended up peeing behind a closed convenience store.

We got to a hotel really late and went straight to bed. We had a 6am wakeup call so I could get ready and we could be there by 9:30. This was the last day I ever fixed the "big hair" 'do. I remember the look on his face when he saw me in my Dress Barn $60 wedding dress. It was a look of, "Wow, you look beautiful."

Since we had underestimated the price of gas up there, we didn't bring enough money. We had to share a sausage biscuit before going to the courthouse. We had to go there before the ceremony to get the marriage license. The chapel, which had a neon sign in the window, was across the street. The courthouse had a statue of Dolly Parton in front of it. (We seriously need to go back there and take pictures.) Luckily, no waiting or blood tests were necessary.

Well, the wedding was cheesy. It was just me, Jeff, the guy who married us (who wore a toupee), and the photographer/witness. I actually cried when he said "I now pronounce you..." Jeff wiped my face and said, "Stop that."

Well, the drive back was long and hot. We couldn't run the air in the car because it was overheating in the high altitude. We got almost to Atlanta, and the gas gauge was on "E." We got to his mom's house on fumes. She followed us to Amoco and filled the tank with her Amoco card.

We made it home, and commenced to celebrating. We of course got drunk. Then, the stress began. The first year of this marriage was the hardest. We were broke.

And that is where I'll end this installment.

Buh-bye.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh