Friday, Feb. 17, 2006 @ 7:39 am
pills and patches and rings, oh my

Have you seen Kanye West's video for Touch the Sky? Fucking awesome.


I'm glad to see more coverage of stories like this. Makes me feel like the tide is turning, whether it's true or not. This kind of thing scares me, though.


Dirty pie. (Did I post that already? Too bad.)


I spent some time yesterday calling the health department and Planned Parenthood to find out the requirements for my sister to go - picture ID, school ID, whatever. Both places require appointments, and the health dept. said appointments were now being made about a month out.

I'm just glad that her parents aren't too idealistic or naive to deny her birth control or be in denial about her being sexually active. It's something close to my heart. For one, it's my sister. Two, I've been there at her age needing contraceptives (after my miscarriage, when my father refused to pay for the pill). And given the current political climate, I'm afraid they'll take away all avenues for such (see article linked above). And this.

I'm a member of a local message board, and there was a discussion of condoms being available in schools. They aren't in the particular county (not Cobb) in question, but the parents were all prepared to be outraged. I don't get it. Do they think they throw them out like confetti? Do they think that will stop their kids form having sex? Didn't work for me (at first).

Update: I talked to her. I brought it up like this: If you are having a problem and need to get in quick, the health dept. might not be the best bet. Planned Parenthood's recorded msg said that same day appointments were sometimes available. (I left a msg and no one ever returned my call.) I said she might be better off going to a doctor through her Dad's insurance, that they'd be more likely to fit her in. She said she wasn't having a problem any more. I told her about what I'd found online about the various forms of birth control. I also brought up the patch and Nuvaring, and she said she'd probably get pills. So that's promising. (I just hope she'll continue to protect herself against STDs.) I gave her the numbers and hours of both places and asked her to make an appointment whenever was best for her regarding school (and to double check what she needs to bring with her). Let's hope she follows through.


I'm getting a massage today. I need it, too. You should have heard my neck when I got an adjustment on Wednesday. I'd spent most of the week in various levels of pain and not being able to turn my head to the left. And my doctor reminded me that I need to come in for a blood pressure recheck when he called in more refills of Fl0nase. Great, a $20 copay just for that. And what do I do if it's still elevated? I'm still drinking maybe one caffeine drink a day. I stopped taking the green and white tea supplement that contained caffeine. I'm taking a CoQ10 supplement. I'm trying to decrease my salt intake. I'm trying to take better care of myself. OK, time and motivation for working out and my stress reduction methods are somewhat lacking.


Reading: various magazines, currently Spin and Herbivore
Listening to: iieee - Tori Amos


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh