Friday, Nov. 04, 2005 @ 10:12 am
there's hope yet

I almost can't believe it. My sister called me yesterday. She sounded well, said she's staying out of trouble, caught up in school (junior), and making good grades. Because her Dad wants to go hunting almost every weekend and she can't stay here by herself, she has to go with him. That and being busy has kept her from calling me sooner, she said. We talked for about 45 minutes about all sorts of things - her learning to drive (told her about how my Dad used to make me nervous, driving on 285, etc.), music and downloading MP3s (she may like the crap rap, no confirmation yet), how her and her Dad's PC is fucked up even after someone supposedly resotred the hard drive and Windows XP for them...etc. Strangely enough, if there was a slight pause in conversation, she would pipe up with another topic. In phone conversations past, it was usually just an awkward silence with neither of us knowing what to say. That's an improvement, right? Also strangely enough, I'd been thinking for a few days (and even on my way home yesterday), that I would definitely not call her again, but let her call me. I had a flicker in the back of my mind that maybe she would Thursday or Friday to see if I was free on Saturday.*

The only thing we have planned definitely is to go to Harmony. Mmmmm...chinese pizza. We decided we're both boring because all we could thing to do was eat and shop. I did offer to buy her a birthday gift, but got the feeling she wouldn't ask me for anything ridiculously expensive. I just asked her what she needed, and told her I knew what it was like to live with just your Dad and need anything...girly (bras, undies, 'sanitary napkins', heh). She has her grandma visiting for two weeks, though, and aunts who can do that for her, though. As far as I know, she's still not speaking to her mom. Speaking of two weeks, isn't that an awfully long visit? I told her I could barely get through a weekend with my parents, much less two weeks. Sheesh.

*I swear, I could be dangerous if I could hone that skill. A year or two ago I even had a dream about our old roommate Chris (who moved out of state) the night before he called us out of the blue.


When I walked Filo on Wednesday, I passed a group of kids. A girl asked what kind of dog, and I said lab/pit. She then asked, "Is it pregnant?" HAhahahaha. I shook my head and said, "Fat." That is so fucking funny. But really, I'm not sure me walking him a mile 2-3 times a week wil be enough. Jeff runs him around the house and/or the yard every day, but I'm not sure if he watches how much he eats.


I'm getting a massage today. Damn, do I need it.


Reading: The Da Vinci Code - Dan Brown
Listening to: Regular John - Queens of the Stone Age ("'Cause I'm so bored with myself")


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh