Tuesday, Aug. 09, 2005 @ 2:06 pm
hot rod PC

On Sunday, missleigh and her husband came over to hold my hand while we set up my new PC with the router, modem, and new printer/scanner/fax/copier/hedge trimmer. I'd already hooked it up and gone through the XP setup. The router and DSL were concerns, but they were the least annoying issue of the day. Ken had trouble communicating between the new PC and old PC to transfer files due to combatting firewalls. The new PC had McAfee pre-installed, but I transferred my Norton stuff to it. (More on that in a minute.) First we had to fight with the web site trying to bring up my order from April from which I could download the software again on the new PC. It would not come up, even though I'd looked at it a few days before without a problem. After numerous tries, if finally came up. I followed the instructions, and ended up having to restart nearly a dozen times. Once I got it set up, we hooked up the fancy printer. Man, that thing does everything. It's going to come in handy having a copier (and a fax, if the need every arises).

The last thing we did was scour the website for an actual phone number for customer service. They didn't make it easy to find. After they were finally able to leave, I called customer service. I got a guy whose accent was so thick I could barely understand him*. Apparently he didn't understand me, either. He wouldn't let me talk, then kept trying to tell me that my antivirus had expired in January 2004. I got his supervisor, who had an accent but I could understand her. She transferred the account, and told me that my account would now expire in 2007. Apparently they added the new account to the old account, but I would not be charged again. Not sure why, maybe because I was pissed?

I didn't get to everything I wanted to do with it. I did go online and downloaded ad-aware and winamp. I still have some software to install, as well as try out the CD and DVD burning capabilities. I still have to get another damn KVM because the one I have (which is less that 4 years old) is for PS/2 instead of USB. It's an expense that I didn't foresee, but whatever. Maybe someone will buy it (and my old printer and scanner) on ebay. Did I mention how fast the thing is? And quiet. I have to look down at the lights to see if it's doing anything. Of course, anything is quiet compared to an 8 year old Gateway.

*I hope I'm not turning into my Dad. I'm certainly not one to fault someone for their accent (especially considering some of the teachers I had at Chattahoochee Tech).


My coworker thought he had seen stand-alone ATMs for my slightly obscure credit union at a hotel near my work. He offered to walk me over there to avoid giving me the slightly confusing directions. And luckily they were my bank, so no fees. I rarely need an ATM, but when I do it's a pain in the ass. There just aren't many branch locations, and the ones they do have aren't that convenient most of the time. And paying fees at other banks pisses me off. My coworker said I sounded like Clark Howard. I take that as a compliment. Though he probably wouldn't have paid as much for a computer. Or truck. Or car.


Reading: Everything She Ever Wanted - Ann Rule
Listening to: Subcutaneous Phat - Desert Sessions 9/10


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh