Monday, Feb. 21, 2005 @ 4:58 pm
cool aunt/sister?

I took Friday off and hung out with missCEO. First we decided on our road trip destination this year - Chattanooga. Woohoo! Kitschy redneck tourist traps! I remember going to these as a kid, and I love caves. (Of course I do.) Anyway, it will be a lot of fun.

Then we went to B@th & B0dy Works, where we were accosted by 3 or 4 salespeople. Gods, that's annoying. If I need help, I'll beat it out of you. I spent the gift card that my sister gave me and got some plug-in refills. Maybe it's not a good idea to get scents that smell like baking bread or cookies while I'm trying to lose a few pounds and improve my diet, huh? Then we went to lunch and talked about how cool I was in high school, among other things. Really? I was cool? "Legendarily cool"? Wow. Why didn't anyone tell me? What happened? What led us to that topic was our shared feeling of uncoolness around certain respective groups of friends. Can I pull off the grommet belt at this point in my life? Not so much.

Then we went to the mall where the Av3da girls swarmed us. I bought travel sizes of some skin care products, and a $38 full size oil-free moisturizer because there was conveniently not a travel size available. Am I insane? They said that their products were guaranteed, and I could return them if I was not satisfied. They tell everyone that with the knowledge that most people will not bother returning things. Oh, but I will. I started using the stuff Friday night, so we'll see. I still don't like the 'toning mist' I'm to use in the morning because I have to spray it at my face. I told the girl I wouldn't like that.

After a disappointing visit to 0ld Navy, and a smelly visit to Ult@, we headed back. We wouldn't want Moe to starve to death.


I then went to see my brother, Allan. I still had the chalkboard I'd bought my nephew for xmas, so I wanted to finally get that over there. When I got there, just my 16 year old niece and her friend were there. I swear, I don't know how to deal with teenagers. I feel so uncool. I don't want to be serious adult, but then I also don't want to be trying too hard to be cool aunt. I basically just left them alone. Then Allan got home with my whiny, sissy-boy nephew. I hate to say it, but it's true. He gets all whiny and teary at the slightest hint of a reprimand, and he clings to Allan like a parasite (understandable, I guess, since he doesn't live with him).

I also sat in on a lecture from Allan to my niece, where he went over why she could not have her cell phone back, and why he was not happy with her in general. The kitchen, and most of upstairs were a wreck, especially the rooms that she uses. He had to badger her to even wash a few dishes left in the sink until they stunk. Well, she put them in the dishwasher. Wow, what an effort. At one point my brother said, "Christy cleaned the house every week by herself!" I said, "Hey, leave me out of this!" I also told him that since she was failing half of her classes, perhaps she did not deserve the nickname Schooly 2000. Well, it's strange to see him in that position. He seemed overwhelmed having both of his kids there, and said as much. It's a big house, and his daughter's a slob like he was/is, and like her mother is. I remember being paid to clean their condo once as a teenager. I'll never agree to do something like that again. I was truly disgusted.

Anyway, we talked about my sister, his anxiety attacks (which were much more severe than what I had), the drama with our grandfather and his wife, etc. It was nice to have the time to talk to each other like that. The holiday gatherings are so hectic, and he (or I) usually leave earlier than everyone else, since we come from out of state. Maybe we can make it a regular thing. I need to plan a visit to B'ham to see my other brother, too.


On Saturday I cleaned the house and did laundry as usual. After I finished, I called my sister. I'd received a call from her on Thursday while I was on the treadmill. She said she'd call back later, so I didn't return the call. She never did. She and her mom ended up coming over for a while and looking at the stuff that belonged to our mother again. Her mom wrote down a few more names and numbers to contribute to the hunt for Danielle's dad. Debbie told me some details about my mother being raped. How awful. She had mentioned it to me in letters, but wouldn't tell me anything when I asked how she was, if the guy was caught, etc. It was a nice, but brief visit. When they left, Danielle was looking at me like she wanted to say something, but wouldn't since her mom was there. Or I could be over-analyzing again.


Yeah yeah, work out. I'm so excited. Hurray.


Reading: Mad Cowboy - Howard F. Lyman, Glen Merzer
Listening to: nothing


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh