Monday, Jun. 14, 2004 @ 4:43 pm
The big 3-0

Well, I had a good weekend. I got a massage on Friday. Saturday, I went to dinner with missleigh. Well, I thought it was just Leigh. More on that in a second. Before we left, she gave me her present. She said she couldn't wait for me to see it. It was this shirt, which I'd sent her a link to with a few other funny ones. How appropriate is it that I get a cartoon shirt for my 30th birthday? I'd say very.

First we went to our favorite jewelry/'metaphysical' store. I was hoping to find something sparkly to buy myself for my birthday. I was looking for dangly (or not) iolite or amethyst earrings, a malachite ring, or anything that struck my fancy. I ended up only buying some small dangly silver earrings. What a bummer. They had some iolite and amethyst stud earrings, but the iolites were prices at $70. Psh. As if. I've got better deals on my ebay watchlist. Then the same malachite ring I tried on months ago was still there. I don't even remember how much that was, too much I'm sure. It was too round to match my pendant. I can only find them too round, or too narrow and cheesy looking. I'm picky like that, though.

So, then we were going to dinner at Cafe Sunflower. Leigh told me she had reservations, which I thought was a bit much at first. It was probably a good idea on a Saturday night, anyway, but especially since the party was for 6 people. I didn't know this until I got there, though. She had invited J (who brought a date), P, K the Blazing Hussy (who couldn't make it), and the other K. It was good to see everyone. J was more sensitive than usual, it seemed. She made one of those walking-right-into-it comments, "I like to try new things at parties," referring to trying the veg food that Leigh makes. Her date, Doug, made the comment, "we don't want to hear about your sex life." It's something any of us could have said, and he was obviously joking. She said he'd been an ass all weekend, and got upset to the point of almost crying. I thought she was kidding and said "suck it up" when she was sniffling. (She was beside me, so I wasn't looking directly at her.) We've had issues with this between us before. I've met Doug a couple times, and he's much the same - sarcastic, etc. If she's that sensitive, that's not going to work out (and I wish it would, because he's a cool guy).

Anyway, I had fun and really appreciate Leigh putting that together. I wasn't into a party, but seeing the girls was good.


Sunday night Jeff took me to Olive Garden, one of my all-time favorite restaurants. I had the portobella ravioli, and he had spaghetti and meatballs. He didn't like it much, but had enough breadsticks and marinara so that he was full. It was nice to be able to go somewhere and somewhat dress up since we don't get to do that often. Well, as dressy as needed at a chain restaurant - jean skirt = dressier than usual.

He also gave me the usual gift - a gift certificate for 12 hour massages. Woohoo! I still have 2 left on the one from December. I am truly spoiled.




Reading: More, Now, Again: A Memoir of Addiction - Elizabeth Wurtzel
Listening to: Breathe - Blu Cantrell f. Sean Paul


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh