Monday, May. 10, 2004 @ 5:11 pm
this vacation requires air quotes

Where to start? Yeah, the Biloxi thing was a myth at best. The nail gun we ordered from ebay didn't arrive until Thursday afternoon, so that killed any plans that may have existed (even if incomplete or all in his head). Next time, I'm not taking leave just because he is. "Vacation," my ass.


Monday and Tuesday, we washed both cars and waxed the new one. The key is to not let the wax sit on there too long, otherwise it's a bitch to remove. As we were waxing, we noticed more bubbles in the window tint other than the big one in the passenger door window. It was just tiny air bubbles in the driver door window and one of the rear windows.

Wednesday morning I went to bumfuck to get the tint fixed in the new car. It took him all of 5 minutes to use a card or something to force the air out of the bubbles. The smaller ones were caused by the felt around the windows, and would have been there in different places had they redone it. The larger one was no trouble at all to remove. I came home and helped Jeff put tar paper on the garage roof. I heard so much buzzing from the bees, wasps, etc., that I started to hear it in the house, too. (I'll probably turn into one of those people who swat at stuff randomly and look around as if being attacked. Yes, you better believe I had the wasp and hornet killer in hand or nearby at all times.) At this point, I'm sort of depressed that this is my "vacation." I talked to my friend P (or was that Thursday?) and she asked, "you haven't done anything fun at all this week?" Nope. Not until Saturday.

On Thursday I helped Jeff load scrap metal into his truck. Greasy motors, radiators, etc. Nasty work, but I did burn some calories. Not to mention it was hot as fuck.


Friday I sat at B's for another yard sale. We didn't do well at all. Well, she did as well as I did the Saturday before. And I did as well as she did the Saturday before. In other words, I made maybe $10 while she made maybe $30-40. Woohoo!

We talked about all sorts of things, including my baby phobia. I think it has more to do with the social expectations of the other adults (for me to be all 'ooh' and 'aah') than the actual kid. Unless it's screaming. She was telling me about how she was never a baby person either, and when she got pregnant was wondering what you do with a baby (besides feeding, bathing, etc.). People would tell her that you love and nurture it. Yeah, but what is that? What else? So, she got the hang of it eventually. It helps that she has a freakishly well behaved and good-tempered baby. I even took pictures of her. Don't get it twisted - I still want none of my own, much less to be around them too often.


Saturday I hung out with missleigh. We had lunch, got stuck in traffic, shopped for wedding decorations, and got my tattoo redone. We went there just to get an opinion and possibly make an appointment. I didn't think they usually took an appointment for the same day. Hell, they don't make appointments over the phone, even. You have to go in. So, it was decided that to simply touch up the parts that were gone or faded would stand out too much, so the whole thing should be redone. Yes, it bugged me enough to get the whole thing redone. It took maybe 30-45 minutes, and cost $25 more than it did to get the thing done the first time almost seven years ago. I really should have done it at the beginning of last week. Now I have to wash and medicate it every 2-3 hours for 5 days, 4 of which while at work. Luckily we have a separate handicapped bathroom that can be locked. Last time I had to dress so I could get to it without stripping down at the the public restroom sink, and dress warmly for November.

I had to go buy some racerback tank tops to wear under white cotton shirts, as well as a racerback bra that doesn't show under white tees. I don't want a bra strap rubbing on the tattoo. Could be uncomfortable, but could also affect the healing.


What else? I'm back at work. Yay. The car has not sold yet. B sold her husband's old car, so that's good. They need the money more than we do, with a baby and only one income. We also looked around quite a bit for a newer truck for Jeff. There were only a few that even came close, but they also had eliminating factors - fender flares, tan interior, a color other than black or red (especially green), short bed, etc. He saw one in an ad right before the home equity line went through that was exactly what he wanted. Now we can't find it. He seems to be getting frustrated, but like he said, no rush. He might as well hold out for exactly what he wants. I just hope it happens before it gets any hotter. The A/C would be nice, since the old '72 doesn't have it.


I've also been off the workout and healthy diet wagon for 2 weeks now. Well, diet only one. I had sinus crap going on during the week before vacation, then vacation. I just didn't have time. I didn't even have time to watch any movies or do much reading. I've got to get back on track starting today. Right now.


Reading: Herbivore magazine, issue 4
Listening to: the A/C running


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh