Monday, Oct. 20, 2003 @ 5:53 pm
I survived the yard sale binge of 2003

I got my hair done Friday morning and headed on to AL. Well, after I stopped back by the house to get two sleeveless black shirts. (No, I'm not joking. I wanted to make sure I was prepared if it got hot.) I got there around 11:00 their time. Not much going on then. Barb was out tooling around town. She visits her sisters, her booth at the antique mall, and an elderly lady who is immobile. She got back and we went to eat pizza, then to see her booth. I found another Timex wind-up watch with a stretchy band and a round, white face. Very nice. I have another one that Jeff got from his uncle that has a small square black face. I wear it 80% of the time. I have a watch and clock fetish that rivals my shoe thing. We get to the counter and Barb says, "Just wait and let your Dad pay for it." I said, "OK. Let's just remember that you suggested that."

I gave her the vegetable broth and told her about the salty dressing, and she didn't seem to be offended. I hope not, anyway. We ate at CiCi's pizza (who missleigh tells me has vegan dough and sauce), and some strange buffet place called the Village Inn near Jacksonville State. My brother said he ate there every day when he was in college. They had sub-par salad fixin's, fried chicken, fish, hush puppies, green beans, turnip greens, lima beans, mashed potatoes and gravy, mac & cheese, etc. I had the potatoes and mac & cheese, as well as the lima beans and green beans. The lima and green beans and the turnip greens were a bit iffy, but Barb assured me they were fine. Whatever. I left the greens alone, but had the beans because I figured they'd be less likely to be flavored with meat. Oh, well.


Saturday morning I woke up around 5am after having woken up several times during the night. I surprisingly had plenty of energy, and it was a good thing I did. We left around 6:30 to head to the first yard sale listed in the paper to open at 7am. When we got there these guys were there with flashlights. We found out that they had been there since 5am looking in the garage windows and knocking on their door. They finally let them in at 5:30. I wouldn't have been as nice. They'd be lucky if I didn't answer the door with Jeff's shotgun. That's why I didn't place an ad.

We went to another one that was in an empty house, which was beautiful. It was in the older section of Anniston near the high school. It had stained glass windows and wood floors. Anyway, she had stuff spread out all over the house with candles lit because the power was off. The same assholes were there, too.

We went to a couple more that were disappointing, then found a good one with a fellow former QVC/HSN fanatic with small feet. She even had the Silver Safekeeper jewelry box that Leigh and I have. That's where I for the bracelets, boots, and jacket listed below. I couldn't believe someone had small feet! Usually the shoes I find are size 7 and above.

After that we went to an estate sale that was to open at 9am. We waited in line in the front yard. The assholes were first in line. When a lady opened the door to go to her truck to get something, they tried to push in. It's a shame when grown men act like that. Sheesh. It's like that lady at Target who took a Cabbage Patch Doll from me when I was 7 or 8. Anyway, not too much there. Kind of sad, really. All of this older couples belongings being picked through. There was one of those swagged lights with a crackled red globe that I would have gotten if I'd had somewhere to put it. It reminded me of the blue light my grandmother had in "the blue room" with the 2 twin beds that the kids always slept in.

We stopped at a couple more disappointments, then went home to have biscuits and preserves - muscadine, pear, and fig. She sent me home with several jars of fig and pear preserves, but unfortunately no muscadine. I then helped her price several items for her booth and packed them up for her. We took them up there and removed a few items that were not selling to make room. She's focusing on Watt pottery, mostly the apple pattern. She showed me the cost on ebay for some of them, and the value in a collector's book. She's getting some things for $17, for example, and selling them for at or below book value at about $80-90 (and sometimes more depending on the rarity of the item). It was fun to do that. I might do that if I were retired. Interested, Leigh? We'll do that in about 30 years.

Dad washed my car while we were gone Saturday morning. I didn't know he was going to, so I didn't leave my keys. The car was parked in the grass and out of the way, also. We had to wash it again last night because he missed spots and left rings on the glass and body. It's not good to leave those. Oh well, he tried.

I came home with a load. Here's a list:

Bought:

  • silver CZ bracelet
  • er onyx bracelet
  • high heel pant boots
  • Claiborne jacket
  • a small cobalt blue vase
  • a very strong-smelling candle in a jelly jar (called "muscadine")
  • 3 things for missleigh

Given:

  • Fantom Fury vacuum
  • small cobalt blue vase
  • cobalt blue cookie jar
  • small crock for utensils (spatulas, etc.)
  • Timex watch
  • nesting box figures (with 3 different containers)
  • silver onyx ring
  • pear and fig preserves
  • bubble wrap from Barb's ebay packages
  • leftover beans, greens, cornbread, and chocolate cake

Once again I came home with a loaded car. He gave me the vacuum because they bought an Oreck. The watch and ring were my purchases that Dad paid for at the antique mall. I swear I don't ask for this stuff. I had plenty of cash on me. No weapons this time. Is there a cobalt theme or what? And Jeff had roses for me when I got home, so I put some in each of the two new vases.

On a darker note (no pun intended), I also got to hear some rather prejudiced and frustrating comments from Barb. "We won't go to that one if it's blacks." "If it goes to far down that street, that's where all the blacks are." "Here we are in the middle of niggertown." (I hate even posting that one.) "The blacks are running everyone off." Oh, and my absolute favorite: "That's a pagan holiday." We were looking at some people's yard decorations and discussed my costume when she threw that one out there. Uh yeah, aren't they all? Most holidays have their basis is paganism. I just don't say anything when she says these things. What would be the point?

I also got to listen to Barb be snippy with Dad. I know that he doesn't want to do things with her or leave the house very often, and he can be negative and non-demonstrative, but geez. He can ask a question and she snaps. We came home Friday night and she waits until we're on their street to tell him he forgot to stop and get gas. "No, our morning will be ruined. Just whatever, Dalton. Whatever." Now, was that called for? She went on a tirade after he jokingly said that her car wasn't there long enough for him to wash it and vacuum the interior. "Do I say anything when you...(blah blah blah blah)?" That one went on for several minutes until I wanted to tell her to shut up.

I talked to my brother yesterday and told him all of this. She tells me the same stories she tells him. He said he's going to tell her how unpleasant she is to be around sometimes. I say good luck on that one.


I was busy yesterday cleaning, ironing, doing laundry, bathing the dog, re-washing my car, trying on suits for my costume, listing ebay items, and going to the grocery store. See? I told them I hat shit to do. They thought I was staying the whole weekend!


The Friday Five. Yeah I'm late, shutup.

1. Name five things in your refrigerator.

baby carrots, celery, Diet Cherry Coke, red grapes, golden delicious apples

2. Name five things in your freezer.

Boca burgers, fresh frozen white corn (from mother-in-law's garden), Soy Dream ice cream sandwiches, edamame vegetable fried rice bowl, Amy's black bean buritto

3. Name five things under your kitchen sink.

Febreze, OxyClean, fire extinguisher, Lysol, Resolve foaming spot remover (can't be without it)

4. Name five things around your computer.

wobble head cat, devil ducky, assorted cat beanie babies, slinky, wind-up robot (found in a box of my old toys-couldn't get rid of it!)

5. Name five things in your medicine cabinet.

B@rlean's Essential Woman (EFAs), Tylenol, Bayer, calcium/magnesium, Allegra-D (leftover after the HMO pissed me off)




Reading: Lucky - Alice Sebold
Listening to: evening news


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh