Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003 @ 6:24 pm
more HMO drama

I called the HMO again yesterday. I told the lady that I thought the removal of all the allergy drugs from the formulary because Claritin was OTC was a scam. I said that either the HMO was trying to get more money by charging more for the ones removed (Allegra), or get out of paying altogether (Claritin). This move benefits no one but the company. I told her I'd taken Claritin, but had to switch to Allegra about a year ago. She said I could get my doctor to show preference (or something), but I'd still have to pay the higher copay. So, I'd either have to take something that had quit working for me, change HMOs, or shut up and deal. The lady laughed at me (because I was obviously pissed) and probably agreed or at least understood. I told her I was not trying to be rude to her, and was severely censoring myself from what I really wanted to say (which she thanked me for - little does she know that I have a mouth like a trucker). She said the call was being recorded, and she could note on my file that I'd complained and someone would hear this call, and I could also complain in writing. I may do just that.

I know, it seems I'm obsessing or fixating on an insignificant thing. But it's still $15 more a month, and the principle of the thing. I am the squeaky wheel.


And now, I may have to find another chiropractor. Apparently, either the HMO manages the chiro coverage or it's contracted out. I have no way of knowing this unless I call. It's not on my card or the website. I chose a doctor from the list on the HMO's website. There were 2 lists - one under provider directory and another under member services/complementary medicine. Huh? I called to cancel my appointment for tomorrow, and the receptionist said she'd call to see what they tell her and get back to me. She also said they'd work with me on payment, but did not say what the fees were. I'd love to go there, since I know the normal red flags for quacks are not there, and I have 2 referrals (from Jeff and his boss' wife). If he is not legitimately on the insurance, I will go to another one, I think. I'll wait to hear what the out-of-pocket fees will be, though.

I hear people grumble about HMOs all the time. I never understood, since I'd never had any problems. I'm starting to understand now.


I'm feeling a little less hideous today, since the breakout is clearing up for the most part. My face is clear and smooth overall (probably thanks to the spironolactone and finevin), with maybe about 6 zits in various stages of healing (thanks to one stressor after another). Fascinating, right? And as missleigh tells me, it's probably not as bad as I think it is.

(I think I forgot to mention that my blood work was normal. My doctor used the term "so normal" in suggesting we continue this line of treatment.)


PC status - I still have not rectified my problems with my camera or scanner. Those are low in priority, anyway. I'm more concerned with getting the router setup figured out so I can go back to working at home one day a week. Dean still has not had time to look into it (as of today around noon). I have received my KVM, and my boss requested a work PC for me today (though I asked him to Friday). That will be done probably by Monday. So, hopefully I can set up the two PCs sometime next week. Then I can turn my focus to other crap. I did manage to install Nero, but haven't had time to burn a CD with it. Another low priority at the moment.


My BMI is 21, which is normal for 5'2" and 116 lbs. It becomes 18/underweight at 101 and 26/overweight at 140. I was 145 at my heaviest in 1997. I remember being between 96 and 100 lbs in my teens. That's just something for me to think about when I get obsessive about diet or exercise.


OK, the doc called. He will do a "consultation" at no charge, $35 for the x-rays of just my upper back, and $20 for the treatment (if it is done). He has FedExed his application to be a provider on the network I am a part of, and we can start charging them once he's in. Until then, I'll pay $20 a visit, as I would be anyway. I guess that'll be ok.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh