Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 @ 5:19 pm
the future of America, losers, and turning into my father

Alright, I've bowed under the peer pressure. I've joined Swappingtons. Now my only question is, where's all the Clint Eastwood DVDs? Hmm? Fistful of Dollars, For a Few Dollars More, Hang 'Em High? Come on, people! I just got a DVD player! Then again, who would want to get rid of them?

That last bit, translated by The English-to-12-Year-Old-AOLer Translator (thanks to Azraelle - go read her baby rant, by the way):

NOW MAH ONLY QUESTION IS WHER3S AL DA CLINT 3ASTWOD DVDS?!!!? WTF LOL HM?!!??! FISTFUL OF DOLARS FOR A FEW DOLARS MORA HANG AM HIGH?!??!? WTF LOL COM3 ON P3OPLA!!11!111 WTF I JUST GOT A DVD PLAEYR1!!1!!!1 OMG WTF THEN AGANE WHO WUD WANT 2 GET RID OF THEM??!?!?? OMG WTF LOL

If you've been in a chat room recently, this looks familiar. Ah, the future of America.


I forgot to mention a comment Jeff made as I was telling him about my half-sister's supposed spoiledness. I said it sounded like she was like my niece times ten, expecting what she wants when she wants it with no concept of money, work, or what things cost. Jeff said, "Well, she doesn't need to talk to you. You'll just piss her off." He may be right. When I hear (or hear of) a kid demanding a Playstation game, DVD player for their room, or whatever, my first thought is, "Get a damn job!" Geez, I'm slowly turning into my father.


I just bought tickets to see QOTSA in March. It's a very small venue, only 900 capacity. missleigh is already teasing me about getting to see "my redhead" up close. I like the music first. The eye candy is just a bonus. If it was all about looks, I'd just stare at Dave Navarro while he, um, sings (or whatever you want to call it).


OK, I have the DSL router, new firewall and anti-virus software, extra RAM, ethernet card, and XP Pro is on the way. I ordered it from an unfamiliar website first, but sent it back. They sent me the OEM shrink-wrapped version that is "for distribution with new PCs." That is illegal. I called, and he didn't "know how that got shipped out!" Whatever. I told him if he couldn't exchange it for either the upgrade or full retail version, I'd have to return it. He agreed and gave me a return number, even though the site says no returns on software. The product page now says OEM, though it didn't before. Losers. He'd better credit my Visa.

I have to burn the rest of my MP3s and other files, call to get the additional line disconnected and the phone jack switched back to the main number, and call to order DSL. I'm having a hard time figuring out how to time all this, since the DSL could take 2-3 weeks from the time I order it to when it's installed. Luckily I haven't driven Dean at work crazy yet, and he's still answering any questions and helping me in general with this.


And it's a good thing I didn't plunk down the moolah for an all new PC, since we now need a new stove. Now. It's making a funny smell (and it's a gas stove). I mentioned it to Jeff, who said it was the primer. No, I've been smelling primer all weekend. It's not that. Jeff and I, along with two of his friends went around the house sniffing like bloodhounds. We decided it was coming from the stove, which was already on the list to be replaced (with the water heater and dishwasher), but just got bumped up to the top of the list. So instead of finishing the corner bedroom and getting all of the shit out of my office, we'll be looking for, buying, and installing a new stove. I guess the old one goes to the dump. Yippee. Maybe I won't have to go this time. That place stinks, believe it or not.


Do ya feel lucky? Well do ya, punk?




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh