Monday, Sept. 23, 2002 @ 5:27 pm
first the wax, then the massage

I had a decent but exhausting weekend. It started with an eyebrow wax and massage Friday afternoon at the salon/spa that is 5 minutes from my house. And I insist on having the wax before the massage. Otherwise, it kind of defeats the purpose. Lisa, the masseuse, and I are developing a personal relationship. She knows my feet are slightly ticklish and tend to cramp up. She knows I do not want my scalp or face massaged. She knows to focus on my shoulders, neck and upper back - especially the right side. For knowing this, I insist on seeing only her, come in once a month, shower and shave before my visit, and always leave her a big fat tip. Lisa and I have an understanding. I've been tempted to ask her about horror stories of being a massage therapist. You know she's had to deal with some poor hygiene, body hair, erections, or otherwise strange behavior with customers. Maybe next time.

Saturday morning, we got up and washed my car and Jeff's truck. In the rain. We had to do it Saturday before 10am to conform to the water restrictions. We decided to do it anyway because we just got new tires, and his still had the blue protective covering on the white letters. And my car was absolutely filthy, having not been washed since July, I think. Luckily it was just a mist or sprinkle and not a downpour.

We then rushed Filo to his vet appointment at 10:30. This was just an exam, so he has to go back in 2 weeks for his second set of shots. The vet pisses me off. Even though I made an appointment, we still waited about 45 minutes. The people who did not make appointments are on the same sign- in list as the people who did, with no preference shown. We did get to see an absolutely adorable 3 month old female pit bull puppy. She was black with a few white patches, and very friendly. She even played with the 6 month old Doberman who was already as large as a Great Dane. Sheesh. I thought Dobermans were usually smaller, like the ones in movies with the pointy heads and studded collars. Then an older Rottweiler came in, who sniffed at Filo and allowed Jeff to scratch her head. Apparently, there was a personality conflict with the Doberman and the Rott, and one had to be taken outside. Drama, I tell ya. Anyway, Filo checked out okay and only weighs about 6.5 lbs.

We then went to lunch, and then to missleigh and her man's new house. It is quite roomy. The previous owners were apparently idiots, as they painted over wallpaper in most rooms, and even wallpapered over wallpaper (4 layers) in a bathroom. Not to even mention the horrid colors and patterns chosen. Idiots. Well, they're slowly but surely fixing everything to their liking. They even had some help from a couple of our mutual friends. Since we have so many projects of our own, I did not offer to help. We did give a monetary gift, which they said was too much. If we didn't have it, we wouldn't give it. We were glad to help, and all that jazz...

Jeff's cabinet had one more defect to be corrected, so we did not bring it home. He had even been by there a week or so ago to look at it and told them of several things to fix. They just forgot about this one thing. The owner told us that due to all of our "inconvenience" with both pieces, we would get some sort of ultra secret super fancy fabulous discount on our next order. Next order, hmmm, we'll just see about that. He even did not charge us for finishing of the 3 additional shelves we ordered Saturday.

We were rained out again, so no finishing of the new windows. We did find out that our 2 remaining windows (which were incorrect) had not even been reordered. We did pick up our vinyl. I'm not sure when we'll have an entire weekend to devote to lifting the old vinyl and the toilet, and then replacing everything. Eww. I might ought to get some rubber gloves for that.

--------------------------------

By the way, the defendant in the murder trial was sentenced to 2 life sentences, to be served consecutively. That of course is up for automatic appeal.

---------------------------------

Oh yeah, Filo is starting to go to the back door when he needs to go outside. I'm even able to leave him in the living room while I'm cooking, just as long as I check on him every few minutes. Before, I did not trust him enough to take my eyes off of him for a second. I know, you're all fascinated.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh