Tuesday, Jul. 09, 2002 @ 5:18 pm
Ace Ventura, or Dr. Doolittle?

Last night I watched part of The Pet Psychic on Animal Planet with Sonya Fitzpatrick. I cried and got pissed at myself for doing so. I saw three guests wanting to know about their deceased pets. One of them was there with a picture of her dog, and Sonya told her that she was "right here with" them and visits her (the owner) often. I think that's what got to me. Does Thor visit us? Wouldn't or shouldn't I know? I'm sure Jeff would be more attuned to him than I would. I guess that should comfort me in a way, because maybe he sees how much we miss him and how much thought and time we are putting into getting another dog. Though, it may be futile to find another dog like Thor.

I like to tell myself that I'm attuned to animals, especially my pets. It's not uncommon for me to get a stray cat to let me pet it, or to go to someone's house and have their animals sit in my lap within minutes. I also had a knack for easing the anxiety (I hope) of cats at the humane society when I volunteered there. There was only one I can remember who never warmed up to me, and that may be because I ran out of time with him (because I was busy, not because of a time limit). If I came upon a cat in a cage who was cowering in the corner, hissing, hysterically meowing and reaching out of the cage bars, I could usually calm it enough to pick it up and maybe even have it start to purr. I would talk to it without opening the cage, and open it when I felt they were okay with that. Then I would either let them smell my hand or pet them (or both in that order). It was more complex that I make it sound. It's a matter of knowing what to do and what not to do, and sensing their thoughts or feelings and acting accordingly. (No, I'm not a crackpot.) There were a few that I bonded with enough to want to take them home had I not already had 3 cats, 2 dogs and 2 snakes at home at the time.

I mentioned my limited experience with Rottweilers yesterday. The last one I met was when Jeff and I were dating. We had spent the night at his friend's house after a party. The next morning I was sitting on one of the couches when another friend came over with Quincy, a female Rottie. She came in the house and made a bee-line for the couch. She laid on the couch and put her head in my lap. I had never seen this 100 pound plus dog in my life. OK, maybe she wanted to lay on the couch and I was just in her way. And maybe it's just a dog's nature to be friendly and trusting. This is why I like cats. You have to earn their love and respect. They are not quick to trust, and neither am I.

------------------------------------------

Oh, this is interesting (or something)...

You managed to piss off western countries by killing innocent people to get you're hands on oil fields that don't belong to you! That's THEIR job, so a task force was sent to kick you up the backside. They succeeded, but you managed to make them look stupid when it was reviled that the American armed forces had somehow shot down four times as many missiles then you actually owned, and the UK was selling you guns and weapon parts while at war to use against them! So "daddy's little boy" is after you now. Considering what happened the last time, I bet you're SO scared!

What tin-pot dictator are you? Take the "What Dictator am I?" test at PoisonedMinds.com




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh