Monday, Jul. 08, 2002 @ 4:48 pm
focus, daniel-san

The long weekend, continued:

On Friday we went to this unfinished furniture place and ordered Jeff the custom cabinet he's been wanting for $300 less than he was quoted at another store. It's for his NASCAR and drag racing collectibles, and my knick knacks. We were so impressed with the store that we went back Saturday to order a chest of drawers for the bedroom to match the existing furniture and replace the cheap ass one I bought years ago so I'd have more drawer space. I'm tired of gluing the drawers back together when they fall apart. I think we'll get end tables and a coffee table from this store, as well. They have solid wood furniture, you can get what you want/need, have it finished as you want, match anything you already have, and get it cheaper than at, say, Haverty's. Can you tell I like getting exactly what I want?

The visit to the vet Saturday morning went okay. It's a job to take all three cats to the vet at one time, but it keeps me from having to make separate trips. I just have to make two trips to the car and back for their carriers. Buzz has gained back a pound. We had him down to 15 pounds last year (from 18 lbs.). Actually, he could stand to weigh 14 or so. He'll never be smaller than that. He's, uh, big-boned-ed. I think maybe it's from him sneaking bites of the Puppy Chow growth formula we fed Thor. Actually, it's the fact that Jeff puts too much food in the bowls for their twice-daily feedings (which contributed to them all losing excess weight), and the fact that if we don't watch him, he scarfs up what the other two don't eat. I bought a plastic measuring cup so he'll get it right.

Thea and Baby were in good shape. Baby could stand a tooth cleaning, but she said there's no way to do it without general anesthesia. I'm leery of that with her age. Maybe one more time, then I'll have to start cleaning them myself somehow to prevent the tartar in the first place. Boy, she's gonna love that.

Sunday I worked my ass off. I am tired and sore. What did I do? No, I didn't spend Sunday whoring. I woke up at the crack o' dawn so I could wash my car and follow the water restriction rules. I was glad to see another neighbor doing the same. Now I know I'm not the only one who follows the rules. So, after that and applying Rain-X, my wax on/wax off muscles are sore. Then I trimmed the 11 'fro-shaped hedges in front of the house. They were getting nappy. The first 6 where fine, no bugs came out of them. Then there's 5 in front of the porch. I had the electric trimmer in my right hand and the wasp and hornet killer in my left, finger on trigger. A holster would have been nice. I hate wasps, or anything that buzzes and can sting me. I only saw a total of maybe 5, but they freak me out. I killed a couple, but another 2 flew out of the spray's reach. I think they may be plotting a revenge attack as I type. So, holding the trimmer with one hand has my back and shoulders really sore. Not that they wouldn't have been, anyway. And let's not even get into the oppressive heat and humidity. Suffice it to say that I was covered in sweat all day. And I hate to sweat. Really. Even working out. But I know it's necessary. I'm thinking of looking into fake hedges, though. With my luck, the wasps would like them even more.

As I walked down the hall toward the living room Saturday night, I glanced up and saw the collage I made of our favorite pictures of Thor. I thought to myself how sad it was that that was all we had left of him. Having just watched a dog show on Animal Planet probably didn't help. Luckily now we can both talk candidly together and to others about him and the circumstances surrounding his death. Keeping that bottled up would definitely hinder the grieving process.

On that note, Jeff said he has decided to look into Rottweiler puppies as well as pit bulls, and avoid any ads listed in Atlanta for either breed. I agreed that that was probably best, given our previous experience with this. He can avoid wasting his time, avoid possibly contributing to a cruel environment and/or dogs bred for fighting or guarding (i.e. chained to a pole w/o interaction). He told me that Rottweilers can be up to 120 lbs. Sheesh. That's 5 pounds less than I weighed Saturday at the vet (yes, I stepped on the vet's scale). I've only known 2 Rottweilers, and both were friendly and had wonderful personalities. He also said he'd just "look for a personality." Hopefully this will all work out for the best if we keep that in mind.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh