Thursday, May. 30, 2002 @ 5:08 pm
puppies like to chew things, preferably expensive wood furniture

Well, Jeff wants another dog. I knew he would. He bought a paper Monday night and outlined all the ads for pit bulls. He handed it to me to look at, I think to let me know of his intentions. I said, "Do you remember having a puppy?" I am not at all looking forward to that. We'll have to crate train it, or put it in the garage when we're not home, or something. Another thing that worries me is these ads. I have to wonder if these dogs were bred to fight. I know not all people do that. Thor was from a family who bred their dog with another pit bull so they could keep one or two puppies as companions, not guard dogs or fighting dogs. Athena was from a sketchy area. The house looked abandoned. She was there with her mother and 6 or 7 littermates. I don't know the story there. I mean, it would be good to get a dog out of a situation like that, but you're contributing to it in a way.

My main worry is the damage puppies can do. We have holes in the walls and chewed wiring to repair from when Athena was a puppy. We kept her in the garage when we weren't home. Jeff just took more tools from the garage to work, so maybe that's his intention - to puppy-proof the garage. Another worry is the cost. Some of those ads asked for up to $2500. Jeff jokingly asked if he could pay that much. "Um, no." I asked him if he had to have a registered pit bull, since Thor was not and he was a wonderful dog. I think he just wants to make sure he gets a full-blooded pit, but not necesarily AKC or CKC registered (or whatever). I guess we'll see.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh