Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 @ 5:48 pm
Charleston - Day Two

Saturday

I woke up around 3:30 or 4am. I had brought a book to read and a reading light in anticipation of this. Leigh got up around 8:30, and we had breakfast. We headed out to the market around 10:00. It was crowded, but not like it would have been in a couple of months. It was also hot, but breezy. Everyone was so friendly. At one shop I tried on a garnet ring. I already have a monstrous garnet ring that Jeff bought me for our 10th anniversary, but this one was soooo cool, and so me. The tag said $45, but the guy said, "How about half price?" Well, hell yeah.

I also got an onyx ring and a hematite ring and pendant for $16 each from one lady. She cut me a deal because I was buying more than one thing. Yeah, I know the price of these things are probably jacked up, but it's better than the prices I've seen in GA, except for the flea market. I was looking for an amber piece, particularly the honey color. I ended up with a huge green amber ring for $35. That is excellent.

I had been looking for a print of Rainbow Row, which is a row of houses along East Bay Street that are painted in many vibrant colors. I know it sounds dull, but it is really beautiful, and a popular landmark in Charleston. I saw a few that seemed too flashy, or something. I then found a booth run by this lady who had to be near 80. She was so funny. I found one unframed print that I liked for $20. She told me her daughter is the artist. I told her I would have to come back. She said, "You'll be back, 'cause you won't find any purtier." Yeah, I was going to look elsewhere, but I also didn't want to mess the print up by carrying it in the crowd.

Leigh got a cute marcasite pinky ring, a very unusual onyx pendant, and a leaf design ring. I think this was about the time we headed back north to eat lunch, then back to the hotel to regroup. Besides, we were feeling icky from the heat and humidity. And our sandals may have looked good, but were not conducive to lots of walking.

Around 3:00, we headed back to the market refreshed. Leigh got a gift for her boyfriend and a friend. As we walked up to the old lady's booth, it looked like she was packing up. I rushed over. Luckily, the box of unframed prints was still there. I grabbed it and paid her. She said she was leaving early to go to a dinner party. I told her I was glad I caught her. She patted me on the arm and said, "I'm glad you did, too." Funny lady. I bet she's a hoot.

We went back to the hotel again to rest and freshen up yet again. We kinda chilled until around 6:30, then headed north to Mustard Seed for dinner. Leigh had seen something in a book about this place being vegan friendly. After some confusion (fucking mapquest) and stopping at a health food store for directions, we found the place. It was an old converted house with gravel parking lots on either side. It was so packed, we had to park at the muffler shop next door. Amazingly, we got a table right away.

We ordered our meals and noticed how skinny and cute all the waitresses were. I'm not sure if Leigh began her wave of depression at this time, or after our meals arrived. I think it started with her stomach bothering her, which affected her appetite. Then she became upset and began to cry. Not very noticeably, but uncontrollably and in jags. I'm not sure how to respond. I want to confort her, of course, but I don't want to dwell on it or call more attention to it and make her feel conspicuous. I just told her it was ok and tried not to stare or make it worse. I also tried to convey that it wasn't affecting how I felt or how I was enjoying my meal. If she feels that her behavior is a "downer" for someone, it makes her feel worse. I mean, it's only a downer in the sense that I feel for her and want her to be able to enjoy herself. It certainly doesn't piss me off or make me impatient. (I know she'll be reading this.)

Anyway, we ate some kick ass hummus with vegan pitas, I ate my vegetarian ravioli, we boxed her meal, and went back to the hotel. Leigh seemed OK after that. We watched a marathon of The Planet's Funniest Animals on Animal Planet, and chilled at the hotel. End of day two.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh