Monday, Jan. 28, 2002 @ 5:25 pm
egg whites and acne

Why is it necessary to put egg whites in things? Subway's VeggieMax patties have it, as well as the Morningstar Farms veggie sausage links. I may never be able to be vegan. I also found out that the fries I ate at Chik-fil-a Friday night were made with beef fat. Kinda hypocritical what with all the cows touting chicken in their commercials.

I also wonder why gelatin is in everything. Why do Tootsie Rolls need gelatin? I can almost understand gummy candies, though not all have it. I just got this book called Meatless Meals for Working People. It goes over ingredients that may be animal derived, as well as listing many chain restaurants and whether they have vegetarian/vegan dishes, or if they will make them so upon request. Man, Leigh must have to be vigilant.

On a good note, I think my skin is clearer since I stopped eating meat. I had the acne pretty much under control after 5 months of Accutane in 1997 and using Proactiv acne treatment system starting about a year ago. I still had/have mild hormonal breakouts, but my skin looks great now. I only need concealer for the dark circles under my eyes (which never go away no matter how much sleep I get - guess it's due to being so pale).

I really had bad acne starting at age 11. My parents even let me start wearing makeup that early hoping the cleaning regimen would help, and allowing for coverup. I went to the same dermatologist as a teen that I do now. He put me on Retin-A and many antibiotics, none of which worked for long or very well. One, Sulfatrim, gave me an allergic reaction by inflaming and stiffening every joint in my body. Not pleasant. I remember the acne being so bad that I didn't want to leave the house.

Geez, now that that little depressing flashback is over...


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh