Monday, Jan. 07, 2002 @ 5:17 pm
Clark Howard, I love you

Him - "So, what happened to that account that money goes into for us to get back when we sell the house?"

Me - "Account? You mean escrow? That pays the homeowners insurance and property taxes..."

Just an example of how I know what I'm talking about, and he doesn't. OK, that's not fair. But, I do know what's going on. We decided (actually I decided and he agreed) we would do the no cash out refinance without buying the rate down to 6.5% to keep the costs down. It only makes a $10 difference in the payment. I'm also setting up an attorney with my legal insurance to drop the $425 attorney fees from the cost of the loan. Yay, state government job benefits!

I think I'm channeling Clark Howard. We're going to follow his advice on paying off our credit cards - pay as much as you can to the one with the highest rate. What we were doing was trying to pay the joint card down enough to pay off one of the others. It wasn't working because we kept having to use it for various reasons - washer/dryer, lawnmower, (we're about to use if for a water heater) etc. Also, Clark Howard said not to get cash out on a refinance. I figure we can't go wrong following his advice.

The vegetarian thing is going well. Jeff is being more cooperative. My fast food menu is limited to Taco Bell or Subway, unless I eat a crappy side salad. It has changed my, um, digestion since I'm eating more fruits, grains and veggies and getting more fiber. (Jeff even said last night at the store when I apparently spent too much time in the produce section, "Just how much fruit are you going to eat this week?") I just ordered the Vegan Nutrition book Leigh let me borrow, which goes over maintaining a balanced diet. I also ordered Meatless Meals for Working People. I don't have that much time to make my dinners, so this may help. I do need more variety. I've been eating a lot of frozen vegetarian burritos, pasta, and soup. I need to get away from the processed stuff. I also thought about cutting back on my caffeine, but Monday is just not a good day to do that.

I really want to get into shape before (if) I go to Myrtle Beach in June. I know I'm not that bad, and I'm one of the smallest ones in my group of friends. (I wear a size 6, for Pete's sake!) I just have a fear of them seeing me in a bathing suit and realizing I'm not as thin or in shape as they thought. I look really good in clothes, because I dress strategically. Or maybe it's a competitive thing, since little skinny Jennifer will be there, too. I don't know. I guess I'm being silly.

I realized something when I picked up the jumbo carton of kitty litter at Kroger last night. I've lost upper body strength since I stopped working out. I might have beat Jen in arm wrestling more quickly if I was in shape like before (besides, she was using her body weight). Gods, I'm so petty.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh