Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 @ 5:00 pm
wiring woes

Masha displays how she feels about her bath.

Beefcake! BEEFCAKE!

The evil is strong with this one.


My foot, your nuts, let's meet. Jizz stain.


From Free Will Astrology:

Gemini Horoscope for week of May 5, 2005

It's time to declare amnesty for the part of you that you don't love very well. Forgive that poor sucker. Hold its hand and take it out to dinner and a movie. Tactfully offer it a chance to make amends for the dumb things it has done. And then do a dramatic reading of this proclamation by the playwright Theodore Rubin: "I must learn to love the fool in me--the one who feels too much, talks too much, takes too many chances, wins sometimes and loses often, lacks self-control, loves and hates, hurts and gets hurt, promises and breaks promises, laughs and cries. It alone protects me against that utterly self-controlled, masterful tyrant whom I also harbor and who would rob me of human aliveness, humility, and dignity but for my fool."

Hmmmm.


I only have a brief update on my sister's situation. Her mom and dad went to the hearing on Monday, only to find out they'll need to go to C0bb County because her dad still has custody. Her mom told me that the judge was trying to make it sound like it was all their fault, and that she should go to one of their homes. I can understand why they would want a child to go home with one of her parent, since so many kids are in the system and don't have that option. But they must not fully understand all that they've both done to try to help her, and all that she's done in return. What else do they expect them to do? Put themselves at risk for robbery and/or physical injury? Oh, and she told me that the police are closing in on the robbers. There's also a private investigator involved, but I'm not sure of his role along with the police.


My TV is fixed, sort of. I took my VCR to the shop yesterday and it tested fine. We reviewed my diagram* for hookup and determined that I had too many connections to the TV. He told me to call him whether I got it working or not, and at one point told his wife I was smart. Then I ruin it by not thinking about the VCR needing to be powered on, thus prompting me to add another RCA connection from the cable box to the TV and screwing up my picture. Duh.

* He was surprised to see my diagram, as well as the ones from previous setups - like with the old TV. He said hardly any of his customers do anything like that, thus made mistakes and/or got confused. Hell, you should see the old one where I had an adapter for coax because the old ass TV didn't have it, an A/B switch for the VCR, and an RF modulator so the brand new DVD player would work with the old ass TV. So now instead of running coax from the wall to the box, box to VCR, VCR to TV, I now have coax up to the VCR, and RCA to the TV. I think I heard them say that this involves using the tuner in the VCR instead of the TV, thus requiring the VCR to be on (which was not necessary before).


Alright, I'm not a complete dummy. I recently subscribed to C0nsumer R3ports, and surprisingly have found that several items I've bought in the past several years are rated highly. This includes our gas range (actually listed as a B3st Buy!), air cleaners ("recommended"), and Jeff's soon-to-arrive new truck (also recommended). Now, I usually do a bit of research online or in stores for pricing and features, as well as design. Some of it ends up being a gut decision, though. Have I gleaned some sort of knowledge from listening to Cl@rk H0ward so much?


Reading: Tori Amos: Piece by Piece - with Ann Powers
Listening to: Still Talkin - Eazy-E


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh