Monday, Jul. 19, 2004 @ 4:40 pm
I got a new TV, nyah

I went to Six Fl@gs with a coworker on Friday. It was hot as hell. She paid for my ticket to make up for me taking her to see Erykah Badu a few months ago. She didn't have to, but insisted. We rode the GA Cyclone, The Batm@n ride, the M!ndbender (my absolute favorite), and the Superm@n ride. The N!nja's line was too long and in the beating sun, as was another one I can't remember the name of (a newer one). I passed on the Scream Machine since I've ridden it too many times to count. No water rides. It was not appealing to get that nasty water on me despite the heat. Did I mention it was hot as hell?

The last ride we waited in line for was the Superman thing, and it was awful. No shade, not much of a breeze, and a good 30 minutes or so. When we get up there, Pat cannot fit into the seat. It's one of those dealies that come down over the front of your body and lock into place between your legs. It wouldn't lock for her. I guess you can't take that risk when you'll be suspended face down. I felt bad for her, but she played it off like no big deal. I followed her lead, just telling her I was sorry she waited in that shitty line for nothing. It was wild though. On that and the B@tman (where your feet dangle), I always felt like we were going to hit something. That scared me more than any loops. Of course we weren't in danger of hitting anything. You now, unless the thing derailed or something.


Saturday was the usual - cleaning, laundry, groceries.

On Sunday my Dad brought me his old TV because my brother got him a new flat screen TV. He had won a contest or something (he's always doing that!) and offered to get everyone something since he didn't need anything himself. Anyway, Dad's old TV is a 32" and has a sticker with '1993' on it on the back. That beats the 1986 27". Plus both were free, anyway! I may never have to buy a big TV! It's cool, too. The hookups for the cable box, VCR, and DVD player were much simpler because this TV actually has the correct audio/video hookups. I had to use an RF modulator on the old one. It's also higher up, meaning that there's built in speakers and a cabinet for the components beneath the screen. This makes it where the screen is more level with your line of sight while sitting on the couch, instead of looking downward. So, now I have an old ass TV that I said I'd use until it blew up because it still worked and had a good picture. I have to find a good home for it.

The reason they were coming to GA was to pick up my niece. Apparently her mother has been gone somewhere with a guy she's dating for two weeks and no one has heard from her or knows where she is. My niece had been staying with a friend of hers until my brother went to get her. He can't keep her, since he works like 16 hours a day, so she'll stay with my Dad and stepmom until her mother takes a notion to find out where she is.

And then later my nephew's mother called me from Barb's cell phone. She was at my brothers and asked me where I was and why I wasn't there. It was never planned for me to go, plus I had shit to do (as usual on a Sunday afternoon - plus the TV hookup). She said my brother had told her I'd be there and she wanted to see me. She said it wouldn't take me long, come on over! I told her I had shit to do. It was just...weird. I haven't spoken to her in over a year, and didn't speak to her much before then when she was still with my brother. And now, she's all antsy to see me and find out what I'm up to and how I've been? Say wha?


Now I must go move weights up and down and punch and kick the air for no reason. Well, no immediately apparent reason.


Reading: Fat Land: How Americans Became the Fattest People in the World - Greg Critser
Listening to: The Distance - Cake


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh