Monday, Dec. 22, 2003 @ 2:31 pm
Beer and Nutella

My furnace is acting up. It will start up, light the burners, the blower will start, then the burners cut off. It will try to re-light 3-4 times, then cut off completely. We're not sure if it's the furnace (which I suspect) or the thermostat. The troubleshooting in the furnace manual says something about a faulty ground wire, but that could be wrong. I'm meeting a tech at the house today at noon. It may cost us, but will be quicker than us figuring it out.

Update: The technician was here for over an hour. He thinks it's fixed, though cannot tell for sure if the flame sensor or ground wires were the problem. He cleaned them, then tested the system repeatedly. It screwed up twice more, then worked every other time. So, I'm out $69. He said if it does it again, the control panel will need to be replaced ($288). Luckily I will not be charged for another visit (except for parts). Also, they can usually get to you in the same day if you call first thing in the morning. We'll see what happens tonight.
Has anyone tried Nutella? It's the bomb. I put some on my bagel this morning, and it was like chocolate icing. (I'm way too excited about this.)
The party went ok, I guess. I got my cleaning done, prepared the cookie dough to chill, then got my hair did (it was nice to sit down and relax for a few minutes!). The cookie making didn't go that well. I spread flour on the counter and placed the ball of dough there. It was so sticky! It stuck to the counter and the glass I used as a cutter. I couldn't use the roller because the dough stuck to it, too, so I ended up patting it down with my hands. I was afraid to use too much flour, so the first batch was quite ugly.

I ended up with about 25-30 large cookies. I tried one, but for some reason I was disappointed. Maybe it was because there were no chips or icing on them. Everyone said they were good, though, like a little cake. I asked if they were just saying that, and they said no. Were they afraid I would flip out? I was working on very little sleep and 48 hours of constant cleaning. (Not to mention that every time the furnace fucked up, my stress level went up.)
I tried a new beer - Sam Adams Winter Lager. "Spiced with Curacao orange peel, cinnamon and fresh ginger." Very good, and smooth. Too bad it's only available in late fall, winter. And this concludes christy13's beer review.
Stolen from Bitchypoo:

THREE THINGS I DON'T UNDERSTAND

1. Housewives/stay-at-home moms. I think I'd go insane if I were in that situation.
2. How my husband (or most men) get pee on the toilet rim. You'd think they'd have better aim.
3. The appeal of Paris Hilton. Chick needs to eat a sandwich and get over herself.

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE ME

1. The aging process, including gravity.
2. Small enclosed spaces. I think I'm borderline claustrophobic.
3. Driving on the highway with big rigs. They sometimes weave in the lanes a bit and get close to the car. And I've seen some horrendous driving by some of these truck drivers.

THREE THINGS I'D LIKE TO LEARN

1. Spanish. There is a huge Spanish population in Georgia. It wouldn't help me in my particular job, but I'd know what the waiters at our favorite Mexican resturant are saying (as well as the men who make comments about me).
2. Meditation. I've tried, but can't seem to make time, keep with it, or quiet my mind to begin with. After the stress of planning the party, I could have used this.
3. Singing. I think I can sing, but am too self-conscious to actually do it in front of anyone. missleigh suggested recording myself so I can judge for myself, but even that would embarrass me. I think some sort of vocal coaching would be beneficial.

THREE THINGS I AM WEARING RIGHT NOW

1. Old Navy flare leg dark rinse jeans.
2. Black, long sleeve v-neck shirt.
3. Long, black belted cardigan.

THREE THINGS ON MY DESK

1. Cartman keychain
2. Cup of water
3. Furnace manual

THREE THINGS I WANT TO DO BEFORE I DIE

1. Travel out of the country, preferrably Austria, Amsterdam, and maybe Scotland.
2. Have a damn vacation anywhere.
3. Um....drawing a blank.

THREE GOOD THINGS ABOUT MY PERSONALITY

1. I am very diplomatic. I can see, if not agree with all sides of arguments.
2. I am very reliable. If I say I will do something, you can bet the bank that it will get done.
3. I don't take anyone's shit.

THREE BAD THINGS ABOUT MY PERSONALITY

1. I'm not very affectionate - not sure if this is good or bad.
2. I'm impatient. I want things done now NOW NOW.
3. I have quite a short fuse.

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE

1. German
2. English
3. that's all I know

THREE THINGS I LIKE ABOUT MY BODY

1. My boobs.
2. My hair.
3. My hands.

THREE THINGS I DON'T LIKE ABOUT MY BODY

1. My abdomen.
2. My abdomen.
3. My abdomen.

THREE THINGS MOST PEOPLE DON'T KNOW ABOUT ME

I don't know. I'm pretty honest, so there's nothing I hide - intentionally or otherwise.

THREE THINGS I SAY THE MOST

1. Fuck off.
2. Psh. (Does that count? It's not really a word.)
3. Perhaps...

THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO

1. San Francisco.
2. Austria.
3. Arizona.

THREE NAMES THAT YOU GO BY

1. Christy.
2. My friends sometimes call me by my last name. Want my SSN, too?
3. Hair. (OK, that was just in high school.)

THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU HAVE OR HAD

1. christy13.
2. christy0615.
3. christy5.


(I'm so original!)



Reading: Bitch - Elizabeth Wurtzel
Listening to: Am I the One - Beth Hart


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh