Monday, Aug. 25, 2003 @ 5:28 pm
Garage Sale, the sequel

Sherry joined me for the garage sale early Saturday morning. We got her stuff set up as the first customers started showing up. Jeff had told me he'd get up and help, but I should have known better. I had to move the wheels and tires, the weed eater, the go cart, and all of his greasy tools outside. I had to do it last time, too. So, yeah, I'm keeping all the money. I think we made about $100, about the same as last time.

We had all of his NASCAR crap out there. We got tired of watching people try to screw them up and put their greasy fingers on them, so we're putting them on eBay. They're mostly stock and funny cars, but there was one Zippo lighter. With a collectible lighter, it cannot be opened or lit. These asshole were putting greasy fingerprints all over it and trying to open it and break the sticker that seals it.

Sherry was the customer service department. She greeted everyone, asked them if they were looking for anything specific, etc. It was pretty funny. I'm so not like that, so I guess it was good to have someone friendly there.

Jeff had gone to lunch or something around 1:00. When he came back he told me someone had taken down one of our signs. I'm still pissed about that. It was in someone's yard, but close to the curb and a stop sign. We took them all down last time, so I'm not sure what his problem is. I threatened to go knock on their door and say, "I want my damn sign back, asshole." I didn't though.

Sherry left around 1:30 to go get ready for a wedding she was attending. I stayed open until about 6:00. Luckily Jeff (somewhat) helped put everything up. I should say that he was busy all day working on his mom's car and our neighbor's van. Oh, yeah. His mom and dad sat in the living room for a few hours while Sherry and I were outside. Fun fun fun. She did bring us corn and green beans she'd canned. And with no meat or broth in them!


I'm still reading You Don't Need Meat. I don't have much time to read, so it takes a while. Anyway, I'm about halfway through, and just finished the ugly parts. The chapter I just finished had statements from slaughterhouse workers and USDA inspectors. It was quite disturbing. I'm surprised I didn't have nightmares. Luckily the rest of the book appears to be cruelty-free diet and product related. (This is why I alternate this type of book with fiction or true crime. They aren't easy reads.)




Reading: You Don't Need Meat - Peter Cox
Listening to: Tori Amos - iieee


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh