Saturday, Aug. 02, 2003 @ 6:58 pm
hand over fist

By Friday afternoon I had made a lot of progress. I had cleaned the house (including vacuuming with the hard-wired vacuum), priced the remainder of my garage sale crap, and done some more arranging out there. I'd gone to get change and mice to feed the snake. We left the house around 8:30 to go place all the signs and get Jeff some dinner. We had used left over posts from the porch railing which were about one inch by one inch. Turns out they were too thick. We had tacked the stiff plastic signs to them. When Jeff went to drive the first sign into the ground, the sign popped off. Fuck.

We had to go to Lowes and get thinner posts, a new staple gun and staples, and extra signs. We got Jeff's dinner, gas, and headed home. We got the signs removed from the other posts and attached to the new ones by 10:30 or 11:00. We finished placing them around midnight. Wheee!


Saturday I set the alarm for 6am. Yuck. I got up, put my face on, and got dressed. Leigh arrived to help me place some of the stuff outside. Beth and her friend Alice arrived with a carload of stuff around 8:30. We entertained Jeff all day. Our first customers arrived around 7am. There was a steady stream until about 1:00. Around that time, Jeff had gone inside and Leigh had gone to get us lunch. There was a crowd there. I think it was then that someone stole the $15 of rolled coins Leigh had hidden in a drawer of the dresser with the SOLD sign on it. How shitty is that? Luckily I had read that I should not place my money in a box, but in a bag I could carry. I thought, would people really do that? Apparently. I feel so bad because I'm partly responsible. I think I'll give at least part of it back to her.

We finally closed up at almost 6:00. I didn't really keep track, but between what we sold and the few items I bought from Leigh, Alice, and Beth, we made a little over $100. Not too bad. We'll open again tomorrow morning, but only until about lunchtime. I've got shit to do, dammit. Wait, but then I may miss some church people. OK, maybe 3:00 or 4:00.

Time for dinner.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh