Thursday, Mar. 21, 2002 @ 4:35 pm
vroom vroom

I had a dream that my car was stolen. It was awful. I woke up very upset, between crying and raging. I was in a store or something, and it was gone when I came out. I think I may have left my purse in it, and just taken my wallet and keys into the store. Later in the dream I was at home and looked out to find the car returned and trashed. Not only did they trash my beloved Monte, they knew where I lived. This is all I remember. I looked at some online dream dictionaries to see what it all means.

This is what I found on http://www.petrix.com/dreams/everything.html :

Theft - Lack. Need. Judgement. Fear of wishing for something that you can't have or don't deserve

Car - Personal power. Ego.

I got this one from http://www.swoon.com/dream/ :

Robbery - To dream of losing your valuables in a robbery is an omen of contrary and signifies unexpected gain, unless the robbery involved a loss of money, in which case it is a warning to be careful how you handle your cash.

I think I like the last one better. Some of them didn't have "theft" or "robbery," so I took what I could. Most entries about a car referred to travelling, driving, the condition of the car, or an accident. I have to look at my book when I get home.

I think I'm a little too possessive about my cars. I think I get that from my Dad. He was very particular about his cars. I remember him trying to teach me to parallel park in the driveway behind his car while I was driving his truck. I was terrified I'd hit it and mess them both up.

When I turned 16, my stepmother (at the time) gave me her 1986 Cutlass Supreme (big ugly gray 4-door with a V6 not powerful enough to pull it). I remember being the school taxi and getting pissed about my sloppy friends leaving trash and tracking dirt in the car. Not long after Jeff and I married, he talked me into trading the '86 in for a red '72 Cutlass with a 455. That probably wasn't a very smart thing to do financially, but I loved that car. It would haul ass and anything else you needed to haul. I jumped a curb in the rain one morning because I wasn't used to the big block yet, having driven only V6s. A girl I went to school with (who I happen to be meeting for lunch on Saturday) told me I looked cool in that car. Well, of course.

A few years later - after replacing the 455 with a rebuilt one, then the rebuilt 455 locked up, then taking a 350 out of another Cutlass and putting it in mine - the death toll sounded for it. The control arm broke away from the frame, taking a chunk of frame with it. Luckily the night before it happened, I had my husband check my front brakes. He saw what was happening (a large crack) and said I couldn't drive it the next day. The next day as we backed it down the driveway, it broke free. I actually wore black that day, as if in mourning. More evidence that I'm a freak.

After the '72 I had a '73 Cutlass which we transferred the 350 to, making it 3 cars that we had that motor in. After that I got a '78 Camaro that ended up being a lemon, too. We replaced the motor in it, and eventually painted it red. It was fun to drive, though. See a trend? Let's see, after that I had a 1996 Monte Carlo Z-34 with a 3.4L V6. Apparently, that motor caused a lot of problems, possibly because it was a new motor and had a dual overhead cam. I had it in the shop 11 or 12 times in 9 months - including replacing the transmission, power steering pump, tune up, etc. etc. I traded it in for my '99 (ol' reliable 3.8, thank you very much) after having it less than a year. I didn't want to have it out of warranty. I also got negative equity on it making my car payment over $400, but it was worth it. I was a little leery of going from a V8 to a V6, but I drive 52 miles round trip daily so it made sense.

I don't want anyone driving my car, either. Sometimes I don't even like Jeff to drive it. He has a tendency to drive it like it's his '72 Chevy truck with the V8. Well, it ain't. He also tend to rag it out when he's mad, or mad at me. I know I shouldn't be that way. It's just a car. It's especially bad now that I have a good car. I have had so many hoop-dees, it's ridiculous. The '72 Cutlass at one time had a piece of shit Rochester carb on it that had a tendency to stick wide open. That's not too fun when you're heading toward a building or a curve. You either had to jiggle the gas pedal just right, or cut it off completely. The other '72 (the one we got the 350 out of) had holes in the floorboard, enough bondo to build a whole other car, and a strange ether odor in the trunk. (Well, we got it for like $300, and the motor was good.)

The Camaro's T-tops leaked, so I'd have a wet ass if it rained. The defrost wasn't hooked up, so I had to keep a towel in there to wipe the windshield. You couldn't open the passenger door from the outside. The driver's side door wouldn't open at all sometimes. I even had to call Jeff to come to my work to let me in the car once. And of course, no air. I'm so spoiled now. I remember getting the car and saying, "Look, the windows roll up and down! The doors open and shut! And A/C! Wheeee!" I know. All that is important is that it gets you from A to B. Well, whatever. I've dome my hoop-dee time, thanks.

And as a result of those cars, I will never own a car out of warranty again. I'm married to a mechanic, but it was like pulling teeth to get him to fix anything on them. I wasn't a paying customer, I guess. It was a major victory for me to have gotten him to put the visor back on the driver's side of the Camaro.

-----------------------------------

I got an email today saying that the birthday lunch at work is this Monday and that the meal would be "an Italian feast." So, I decided to ask someone exactly what would be served. She seemed a bit annoyed, but I could be misreading her. I can either make a nuisance of myself and ask (in case I should bring my own lunch, since I don't expect them to cater to me), or just sit there eating bread if there's not anything there for me to eat. She said she usually asks someone on her team to bring a vegetarian dish (different teams do it every month). I can't assume there'll be something there. Once there was the hotdog day. At that time I was still eating fish and chicken. They got some chicken hotdogs, but it's still processed meat which I quit eating over a year ago. I dunno. Maybe I'm over-analyzing it.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh