Monday, Feb. 18, 2002 @ 5:59 pm
more strange confessions

A couple more strange confessions:

-"Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd and "Rebel Yell" by Billy Idol - When Jeff and I were dating, his Dad kicked him out of the house. For lack of anywhere to go, he ended up in South Carolina at his Grandma's. I didn't think he'd come back. I was extremely upset. He wrote me several long letters from there, and called me a few times. In one letter he asked me if I had ever heard the Pink Floyd song. I probably had, but was not familiar with it. I went out and bought the single. Then, I got it. It was sort of comforting while he was gone. And I still get nostalgic hearing it.

The Billy Idol song is kind of a fluke. He quoted the words to the bridge of the song in one of his letters:

I walked the ward with you, babe
A thousand miles with you
I dried your tears of pain, babe
A million times for you

I'd sell my soul for you babe
For money to burn with you
I'd give you all, and have none, babe
Just, just, justa, justa to have you here by me

The song is not at all a romantic song by any means, but I knew what Jeff meant by it. I know, it's cheesy and dumb. He was only in SC for about 2 months, but as a 16 year old in love it seemed like forever.

-To counteract the cheesiness of the last one, I'll give you this. Jeff and I are not very affectionate. We don't call each other "baby" or any other such pet name. We don't cuddle (that often). We hardly ever say "I love you," but we both know we do. We are both put off by gushy displays of affection, whether in public or on TV (movie, sitcom, soap, whatever). I think sometimes this confuses people, unless they've known us a while. They may think we don't like each other or something. We sometimes punch each other in the arm, pinch, or something like that. Kinda like kids on the playground, I guess. We do hold hands, or one of us puts their hand on the other's leg in public sometimes. Nothing too disgusting. I mean, in private in the bedroom is another story that I won't get into here.

Another thing that may lead to confusion is the fact that we each do our own thing apart from the other. I have friends and things I like to do that he doesn't and vice versa. Also, we do not track each other's movements like the CIA, as some couples do. I think that is more a sign of love and trust than to page your baby daddy every 15 minutes. I know that if he's late coming home from work, something came up. No big deal. And if I'm late coming home from a friend's house, he knows where I am. Also no big deal.

He has even told his friends that I am probably the least bitchy wife he knows of. Hmmm, is that a compliment? No, I'm not a dishrag. I just choose my battles wisely and feel no need to nag. I don't bitch if he is late from work, or if he wants to watch ESPN instead of the Discovery Channel. (That's why we have another TV.) The only family functions I make him go to are thanksgiving and christmas. I do not usually drag him to weddings or places he does not want to go. (Though, I did sort of coerce him into going to my boss' wedding.)

---------------------------------------

On another note, Jeff seems to be out of his birthday funk. He said thinks it was one neighbor running the compressor until 2am, and the other neighbor blasting the stereo at 7am. So, he got off to a bad start.

He did perk up a bit Saturday night at Mellow Mushroom, and the Sunday morning "naked time" seemed to help, too.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh