Saturday, Dec. 15, 2001 @ 8:56 am
My Mother - part 3

After the surreal "viewing," it seemed that a relationship with my mother's family was possible. They seemed very supportive and tried to ease my feelings of awkwardness. My uncle was a lot like my Dad, so I was drawn to him.

The following day after christmas, they invited me over. They have 2 daughters and normally get together on this day to avoid schedule conflicts. I had a nice time. Bill and I went downstairs alone to play pool while waiting on lunch to be ready. He could tell I felt a little uncomfortable. Everything went well, I thought. I got along with everyone, so it seemed. He had one daughter who was married and brought her husband. The other daughter brought her "friend." I suspect she was a lesbian. I was wondering if they knew, or if they thought that I knew or had a problem with it. I wouldn't, of course.

Well, after that, communication lapsed. I left some messages, and talked to Bill once or twice. The next christmas I sent them a card. No response. I was NOT invited to their house again. The following May, I sent a card saying basically that I understand if they were uncomfortable with me there. We could keep any communication through the mail. I did want to get pictures (or copies of pictures) of my mother as we had discussed. (All I had was a snapshot from far away, and her jail ID.) I said I would pay any postage or cost of copying the photos. I also said that I would like to have some contact with my mother's family. No response, still. That was over a year ago. No, they have not moved. I guess that answers my question.

I am still quite bitter and pissed about this. What the hell did I do? For a while, I suspected that his daughters were not comfortable with me. I'm still not sure, since I was given no explanation. I so wanted to learn about my mother and her family, since I never had a chance. I also regret not seeing her before she died.

I also thought that maybe they thought I was opportunistic, and came just for the extra $1500 (which came in handy after buying the house). I talked to them about this at the time, and they assured me that I should have it. Who knows. I give up.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh