Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2001 @ 5:54 pm
like my family needs more drama

I finally decided to just get my Dad a Lowes gift card. They're always teasing him about being up there every day. It was becoming too much of a pain in my ass to find him a shirt made in USA. Now, I have Leigh, Jeff's mom, dad, grandma, and uncle left. Well, maybe his sister and her boyfriend. Grandma and Uncle Billy are bedridden. Billy is paralyzed and Grandma just had hip surgery. What the hell can I buy them? Jeff's mom has been no help. She's only told me to get Grandma a hospital gown. That's a dumb gift. I'll probably get her some warm house shoes since she's always cold.

I just got off the phone with my Dad. My niece, who lives with him and my stepmother, overheard a phone conversation and told Barbara (stepmother) that Dad was meeting a woman and seeing her. He told me it's not true. He's kicked out and staying in a nearby motel. Thanksgiving should be lovely. I'm just baffled. I'm not sure what to think. I want to believe him. And of course Barb freaked and is not hearing anything Dad has to say. This all has to do with my step-grandmother, Rene, starting trouble. She has already put a wedge between all of us and my granddad, and is now trying to start trouble for my Dad and Barb, who she despises (and vice versa). She tried to start this shit back in July about Dad still seeing Paula, who he dated when divorced from Barbara. Paula is friends with my aunt and comes to some family gatherings. I asked Barb months ago if this bothered her and she said no. Well, Paula was telling Dad about calling Rene and Rene starting in on that shit again. This is part of what my niece overheard. She's only 12, so she probably misunderstood. What a mess.

I was going to start the saga of my mother in this entry, but I'm too distracted now. I was so looking forward to Thanksgiving. Now it's going to be tense and uncomfortable. I started shaking when I heard my Dad's voice on the phone at my work. He never calls me here. When I asked how he was, he said not good. I just knew someone had been in an accident or diagnosed with a disease. The actuality is not *that* bad, but unpleasant none the less.

This all makes me thankful for my own marriage. This, the drama with my brother and his baby's mama, some longtime friends of Jeff's divorcing, our violent and restraining order-ing neighbors, etc. I should cherish what we have, and not take it for granted. I should tell this to Jeff. Maybe I'll do a thanksgiving entry.

On another note, we're looking into refinancing the house. There's a guy who my stepmother refinanced with, and my brother Scott is using him to refinance his house, too. I trust Scott's judgement, so as soon as I heard this, I called him. I'm faxing him the authorization to get started today. Hopefully we'll get through this without a nervous breakdown or anything.

I'm so glad I'm off tomorrow. I plan to find some cool non-leather boots. Shoe shopping always cheers me up. I may just come up with something for Jeff's family and be done with it. Oh, and Leigh, but she's easy to buy for.

-----------------

I just got off the phone with my aunt. She says my Dad is not eating, is staying by himself in a motel, is depressed, and sounds like he might cry. Now, my Dad is not one to show emotion. If this is true, he must really be upset. I'd better call him. I hope Barbara doesn't call and expect me to take sides.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh